HELP: Password scam! (FIXED)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I just posted an article on Steemit. Immediately I got this comment from a user claiming to be cheetoh with rep 11:
"Hi I am a robot. I just upvoted you? I found Similar content that readers might be intrested in:
https://steemit.com/@einarkuusk/five-games-to-put-your-brain-to-work"

Foolishly, I clicked the link. It asked for my password and I gave it cause it looked like steemit, didn't take me on a new page or anything.

Have I done something stupid? Can anyone please help? Is my account compromised?

UPDATE: At first, I couldn't regenerate a new password for some reason. Also, I couldn't recover the account because it said the account hadn't changed ownership.
I DID manage to change the password successfully, after 4 tries, though and now everything seems to be alright.

Thank you @gtg for the immense help!

Stay safe!

Sort:  

Glad it got fixed. Never trust anyone who's asking for your Steemit password. :)

Thanks! Theoretically, I knew that....anyway, I've definitely learned my lesson!

Good alert for me.

I'm glad to hear that ;)

It's a lesson for everyone. Good you could fix the problem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63642.71
ETH 2605.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81