STEEMIT AND WOMEN EMPOWERMENT

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hello freinds,

I have something in my heart which I want to share with all of you. You must have visited my blog and if not then now you will, I hope! No, This article is not for my self-promotion. It is about my feelings, my jealousy and my hope.

My mother Mrs. Renu Chum. She has always been my inspiration. I come from a family where everyone knew meant one thing. work and alcohol! Though we were fine financially, The only thing which lacked in my family was a vision. The only person I know who had an urge to do something creative was my mother. My mother used to work for the Radio station back in 1970's. She was a talented woman but had to give up her career because of typical Indian customs of the middle class during that era.

She was very well read and her favourite genre was Romance/Thrill. She wrote as well. I still have her stories with me and in future, I will start publishing them on my Blog. She died in 2017. She loved me and I tried my level best to do best for her but I never realised that she was living in a vacuum. She was not satisfied with her life. That feeling of not making a career kept poking her throughout her life. I will always have this grudge that I could not do anything for her while she was living. I could not even post her one story while she was alive.

I inherited the hobby of writing and reading through my mother only. I loved writing but never had any platform where I could self-publish my stuff. If I had "steemit" before then I would have encouraged my Mother to write here. I am sure that this would have been my best gift to her. But I will have to live with this grudge.

I see a lot of Girls and Women here those who are giving feathers to their dreams. Few are learning and few of them already have achieved heights. I wanted to interact with all these people personally. With this thought we made a Discord channel SteemBulls. Where we try to help Newbies and to encourage these girls to do more. It gives us immense pleasure when they succeed.

Users like @shagungupta @evlachsblog @information7 @sanach are doing marvellous work on steemit. Then we have some superstars @nehab @marymik23 @himshweta these girls are doing very creative and artistic work. @nehab is to whom I idolize. Her work is very beautiful and inspiring. My mother would have done something like these girls.

Every day so many people are joining steemit. Steemit is getting flooded with content. Some of it is useful and some of it is not. Well, who I am to judge anyone's work? What I believe in is that Whatever I post, should reflect me. In future, if I look back at my work then it should bring a smile to my face. It should reflect the person I am.

Steemit has given the power to all of us to do better work. Whatever content we post should add value to the medium. We all are here to grow and never lose heart. Sooner or later, Good work will get noticed. We have people like @sweetsssj @nehab @himshweta @marymik @bunnychum @firepower to look up to. We can learn a lot from these Bloggers.

Again hats off to the girls and they are truly empowering themselves.

Those users who are new on this platform are invited to join our Group on Discord. Learn all about steemit and interact with others.


Join us on Discord: https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Sort:  

Awesome read about your mother and her work in radio station. Keep up the good work girls and boys!! ;)

Thanks a lot @ikrahch Hope to see u more often in steembulls :)

I have tears in my eyes. Your story resonated with me so deeply. You see my mother was also talented. But in our household Alcohol, deviance, and tobacco took precedence. I'll never forget the day in a speeder induced euphoria my mother pulled down her dusty pages. She saw failure. My goodness I saw magic. My mother has been the greatest lesson of my life thus far. She is still alive but her dreams died long go. Although she lives she is not my mother really. She is a shell. Focused on her immediate gratification. We both lost our mothers but in different ways. My heart shakes for you. Although my mom has never really been a mom.. I pity my own heart and am wary of its strength the day I must bury her. Because I'll be burying everything I'd ever dreamed and hoped to have from her. I propose alike. I empower other women as much as I possibly can. Especially my daughter. Every little girl is a princess and more than deserving of being a champion. I can tell you love your mother very dearly. And I say love because who leaves this Earth I believe lives on in our hearts. Death is a cruel teacher. And I meant that in all love. You see I've lost a son. And knowing he lives in my heart.. it gives me the power the courage to follow my dreams... for him. Thank you so much for this outpouring of emotion you have given me. What a beautiful thing it is to be moved by words. Keep writing! It's how we change the world!! Your mother is proud. Always know that.

I believe that we carry the same pain in our hearts. Losing mother emotionally or physically is evenly painful. What I believe that more than their failure, it is about their era. Women sacrificed their dreams for their families without even getting recognition for their sacrifice.

This was the greatness of our mothers. I failed to do anything for my mother but now I have a medium where I can speak up. I am from a culture where women are considered to be Goddess. I live that culture in my heart. My religion teaches me same. If I can bring change to one girl's life then I will consider myself successful in my efforts.

You seem to be a kind-hearted soul. I would love to interact with you more and share my thoughts.

Your mother is beautiful, @honeychum. And she is a great soul to have given you such good values. My heartfelt regards to your mother's soul and her goodness.

And thank you so much for bestowing such great honour on me. i am flattered and touched.

Yes , with today's opportunities , Your mother's talents would have found wings. She is an inspiration to us all.

Thank you so much, @honeychum. You are very kind and sweet. :)

This is a platform that helps level the playing field across genders (or geographic locations). Equal access to the same opportunites is always going to be a good thing for everyone in the long run.

Thanks for sharing also about your mother!

Exactly! Today we all have the equal chance to be heard and noticed. This is the beauty of steemit.
@bengy

yes, this post is awesome, Woman Power, the woman has the right to be more productive in the society and equality of works base on intelligence and freedom of choice.

Thanks a lot.Its truly an honor to find a place in your post.
Steemit has given all of us a wonderful platform to express and explore ourselves.I am still a newbie and trying my level best to get recognition.Steembulls is helping me a lot.I am getting regular upvotes and followers. Thanks to the founders who are putting so much effort and time just to help minnows grow.

You are a pillar of Steembulls. I respect and like your work. You have grown a lot in detailing your articles. Skies the limit for u gurl. :)

Women power is always super power.....dont need to under estimate them ..for their quality and sensible work..

She was an awesome human being and my great sister had limitless qualities..

Thanks a lot @nilamm for being there in my difficult times. Respect for u. Love u a lot my dear.

No wonder you are also a great writer. Your mom has passed the great qualities she possessed on you when it comes to writing. She must be proud of you and I admire her also for raising a good and gentleman like you. She must be really proud of you!

Thanks for sharing your love for your mom, @honeychum.

It should be spark instead of shine in your name. You are someone who could through spark even in the darkest moments. your presence makes the atmosphere light and entertaining. I am glad to be working with a most humble soul like you.
you resemble positivity @dynamicshine

that's great, your mother is very hard working and a beautiful lady. I appreciated her work and thankyOu for also praising my work :-)

I have seen your work buddy and I am proud to be your friend. :) @sanach

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97