Curation Reward; tips for every steemian (post HF20)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Forget about all the complex advises you have seen before, I'm gonna make it simple and NATURAL for you! Steemit is special and distinguished for its specific way of encouraging people to provide content AND curating the provided content. do you agree?

First things first: the definition of Content Curation

Content curation is the process of gathering information relevant to a particular topic or area of interest. Services or people that implement content curation are called curators. Curation services can be used by businesses as well as end users.
Wikipedia

curation-reward.jpg
image source - modified

Being Natural

You are a contributor of the STEEM platform, to provide and audit great content. So being organic and natural is very important for the sustainability of the platform.

Regretfully, many accounts with big wallets, are just milking the reward pool, by trying vote on posts with high payouts and they don't care about the content quality, which is the essence of this platform.

There are many great content on this platform which receive nearly zero attention. So being natural is my first advice.

Voting time

If you are looking for maximizing your curation reward, out of the healthy and natural contribution to the ecosystem, don't vote before 15 minutes of the post age. any time after 15 minutes is great.

Current Payout of the post

A post which has already received lots of reward, doesn't need more upvotes + you won't get rewarded with upvoting it. it doesn't mean you shouldn't upvote it. you still can show your empathy and appreciation by voting the content, but if the curation + the reward is important for you, this is not the right place.

What does lots of rewards? I can categorize levels as follows:
0 - $3 payout: high level target for voting
$3 - 10 payout: medium level
$10 - 30 payout: low level
$30+ payout: out of my attention

Again, this is IF you are looking for rewards, I have personally upvoted many posts with high payouts, just because I thought they have really done a great job. by voting them, I just wanted to express my appreciation and I knew there would be no pay checks! ;)

Let's see a sample:

photo_2018-10-18_19-10-17-(3).jpg

here you can see, I have received almost my voting power back, from upvoting a post, which hasn't even used bot and paying votes (only 3.5$ payout post). All I have done, is the above checklist, as below:

  • the post was genuine and worthy
  • I voted after 15 mins of publish time
  • it was below $1 when I voted

Self post voting curation

There is a big opportunity to receive rewards on your own posts. look here:

photo_2018-10-18_19-10-17 (2).jpg

As you can see, I will receive almost 4 times to my voting weight (my vote is 0.18 cents here, my author + curator reward is almost 0.67 cents) The reason is I have exactly voted my own post at 15 minutes after posting.

on this specific example, I have to explain how I use bid bots to increase my post visibility, in a separate post. I will explain my strategy, my concerns and profit/loss calculation (yes! there is losses if you don't do the right math!)

So please keep following my blog and if you find this post informative, please feel free to UPVOTE ;)

P.S.: I have to thank @steemchiller for the great effort he has put on steemworld.org, which I have used the screenshots in this post to explain the subject. I use his site regularly to monitor my account activities and to support him for what he has done for free, we can vote his posts on his page.

Sort:  

Nice post, I'm actually a new member of this platform, and I hope this article will help me a loot.
Yesterday I was posting an article, and only got 2 upvotes.

Thanks you for sharing this article^^

welcome to steemit
it was same for me, probably for everyone in the beginning. I encourage you to keep up with the good job for quite a while.
i will post more on tips and tricks to grow accounts. keep in touch

I'm always ready to wait for your tips. Thank you so much^^

let's follow each other. info and advice is very useful for those of us new here.

Muy buenos consejos los seguiré para ver si mejoro

gracias and wish you luck 🍀

Good to get upvote @manueldelv

Please please follow me and give me upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44