Help me out: What is in your opinion, the best web hosters out there?

in #steemit6 years ago

image.png
So I am looking into building my own website (for some future plans) and while WordPress seems like the way to go it looks damn expensive and risky since I have to pay for 1 year ahead, that is a lot of money if I change my mind honestly. I have also looked at HostGator as my web hoster, they seem to have some good offers as well and there I can pay monthly(for pretty much the same price).

I thought maybe we have some experienced people here on Steemit regarding this topic and would really appreciate the help! :)

Any of you have experience with web hosts? tell me what would you recommend!

-holm

Sort:  

You will be surprised, but there is a webhosting service called viewen where you can host your website for free:
Free Cloud Hosting With cPanel
Free SSL
Free Support
Free Softaculous
Unlimited Control Panels
Unlimited Resources
No Ads
Unlimited Disk Space
Unlimited Websites

When, normally, web hosting companies offer a free hosting service, there are limitations on disk space, band width or they will put some ads on your web site and thereby making some money. You have to upgrade to their paid service to get the full functions. Not with viewen. They offer all the services absolutely free. Here is the link for you to check it out: https://dashboard.viewen.com/aff.php?aff=798

hmm that sounds interesting.

Almost too good to be true lol.
Would you say there's any disadvantage about this service?
Have you been using it? :)

Yes, I use it. Too good to be true? Yes, initially, I also thought so!!!

LOL! That does sound too good to be true. I will have to research that. Someone has to pay for the bandwidth!

From here it looks like they offer the service for free with the hopes that you will upgrade to the paid support model at some point. This reminds me of the model a lot of Linux distros use. Who knows, could be worth a look.

It would depend on how much personal info they want to sent up a free account for testing! :)

I am using Wordpress.org with godaddy and I think I am paying like 10 bucks a year for the hosting in godaddy and like 12 for the domain... It's pretty good price. I was in Wix where I was paying 14 a month and has not a lot of feature like wordpress with the pluggins.

Thanks! Gonna check that one out as well!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, it depends on your use-case. Look into Gatsby and Netlify and check whether it fits your needs. Costs: 0 € $ BTC Steem ;)

WP is not hosting. Its a blogging platform that you can get at hostgator. Which is my personal choice that I have used for years with much satisfaction

Hi @holm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.351 which ranks you at #2394 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 294 places in the last three days (old rank 2688).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 254 contributions, your post is ranked at #97.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36