Twitter Cards Large or Small, What Do You Prefer as Twitter Users?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

Since I Began Helping the Team on Social Media I Have Been Asking for Large Twitter Cards.

My reasoning is really quite simple. People love imagery and our community has image friendly content like photography, food, travel, memes and art. Twitter rolled out Large Summary Twitter cards a few years back and I quickly implemented them on my personal sites as well as had clients implement them on theirs. There are no current studies that back up my desire for large images. So I don't have hard numbers on Twitter benefits of large summary cards.

Hubspot Published an Article, "14 Ways to Increase Your Clickthrough Rate on Twitter".

Example Small Summary Twitter Card from Sprout Social.

Example Large Summary Twitter Card from Sprout Social.

Currently the Steemit platform is using the small version. In order to follow the 2017 roadmap we are cleaning up the @Steemit Twitter account and manually curating posts. The account has grown from around 1,000 followers in September to over 7,000 now. There are only a few blockchain news sites and organizations that have larger followings. Steemit is quietly starting to rank for key subjects like Crypto Currencies on Klout as you see below.

Imagery is Everything Today.

The success of Instagram, Snapchat and Pinterest tells us that images are super important. Humans are visual creatures. We only have a few short seconds to catch user attention online and images are the hook. Videos are quickly gaining prominence but in the meantime Steemit has images, so I would love to see large image summary cards implemented. This will be the last time I ask for them since I have been asking since September and getting nowhere fast.

Disdain for Marketers is Understood.

I know that marketers are the used car salesman of the internet. We are not well liked and we deserve much of what is said about us. On a daily basis I look for ways to exploit social networks in order to gain an advantage for my brand and my clients brands. The cool thing is that I am here to help grow the Steemit community, which benefits everyone involved. I don't mind being the red headed step child in the room. I will lay low and just provide tons of invisible promotion across the web for the Steemit platform.

Sort:  

Great idea. Although I agree with your feelings on marketers, it's a necessary evil to get any traction on new concepts and ideas.

If you're the red headed step child, I'll try and sneak you some dinner when the rest of the family ain't lookin.

Nice, I have no problem with that if I make some bread in the process. ; )

Keep on keepin on my friend ;)

Please Steemit INC, make that simple change. It goes a long way to get more clicks.

Used car salesman can make a good living :)

Absolutely, more than a new car guy. I sold Mazda, VW and Honda so been there.

1 of my clients is the top car salesmen in Canada. I've seen the rankings for so long with him, it really is something else.

Honestly everything he touches turns to gold, it is kind of ridiculous. His nickname is Teflon LOL

Car sales was where I learned to overcome my fear of sales. It was a great experience over 5 years.

I'm currently looking at Steemit twitter page. The header image, even if it has a cool style, really does not convey any message of what steemit is and actually looks confusing. And this comes from a steemit user! I'd also highly consider changing this message: "We Feed the Trolls (Uncensored) http://Steemit.com " - What does this even mean? Welcome to a place with lots of trolls? I'd change it.

Though I think the value of the content by itself seems a bit overpriced, (Could it be the pictures? Inside joke for hilarski) I still upvoted it because it deserves improved visibility to the community.

Funny, I didn't even take time to make a cover photo for this one because I just wanted community feedback and let the team know that we could have a better Twitter presence. It still was upvoted very nicely.

I think the title +first few sentences were well chosen and the content in general great though, so I'm not too surprised. Thank you for posting and answering. Keep making social media great again ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63508.13
ETH 2493.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68