Social Media Tip #1 from $200 Social.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Have You Ever Wondered How Some People Build a Huge Following on Social Media?

The world of social media is filled with people who have garnered a huge number of followers. I used to wonder how they did it and then I met a few people who were absolute professionals at building an audience.

If you are not a celebrity or blessed with good looks then you have to put in the work like I did. You would not believe how many people I see online who just post content and then complain when no one engages with them. Here on Steemit we have a whole horde of people who think their content should be upvoted yet you rarely see them commenting on other users content. A good example of how people don't engage is to look at how many followers I have vs. how many I follow. It is a ratio of over 2-1.

Clients hire us all the time to help build their audience across many different social media platforms but there is one thing I always tell them, "You need to be part of the conversation". When a client says, "Randy I want to get sales when I post to social media", then when I never see them logging in to the accounts it really saddens me. The old saying, "you can bring a horse to water but you can't make them drink", is so true.

Give, Give, Give and then Ask.

You would not believe how many times people told me that they don't have time to join the conversation on social media. Many of our clients come to us and say the same thing, "I want followers but I don't want other peoples content on my accounts". That is fine if you produce a ton of content but if you are like the average person 1-3 Tweets per day is not going to cut it.

Many people also don't want to follow other people or businesses online. This one blows my mind! Whenever I see a Twitter account with 5,000 followers but the account only follows 50 I guarantee that I will not follow that account. It screams narcissism. To be fair some people just never use that account and automatically post their content to it.

$200 Social Tip #1.

"Commit 15 minutes per day, exploring and getting engaged with your audience."

Each social media platform is similar to a small town in different countries. They each have their own rules and customs. I did not learn how to speak Google Plus or Twitter overnight. It took months of practice on each platform. For example have you ever seen someone send their native Tweets to Facebook? I want to pull my hair out every time I see it. I know plenty of others feel the same way. Keep your Tweets on Twitter!

Take the time and learn each platform thoroughly before you take on a new one. If you are serious about going beyond Steemit to grow your audience I recommend you begin with Facebook or Twitter. These two platforms are relatively easy to use. If you are more advanced tap into the power of Google Plus and Pinterest. They are both great for SEO.

Get to Work Building Your Audience but Please Join the Conversation.

Homework- Take a post here on Steemit, that you enjoyed. Find out that persons Twitter handle, mine is @RandyHilarski, then tweet it out. Then below the tweet there are three dots, click on it and then select copy link to tweet. Comment on the post here on Steemit, thanking them for taking the time to write it and Paste that link. The Twitter Bot will stop by and verify that the Tweet was done and I guarantee the person you did that for will smile.

Sort:  

Another great post Randy. I love how you so freely share your tips. You add a really great touch to this platform. Thank you.

Very Cool, I have never heard of that social network before. I will have to learn more about it.

RandyHilarski Randy Hilarski tweeted @ 26 Nov 2016 - 15:47 UTC

Social Media Tip #1 from @200SocialMedia @Steemit #SocialMedia #Blockchain

steemit.com/steemit/@hilar… / https://t.co/jfuqr3SR4w
https://t.co/xxKcgPJt5p

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

This is such a great technique... I should try it some time lol.
Keep up tge great informative work!

Begin and make it a daily habit. Great things can happen.

it was initially said with a dribble of sarcasm, as I was interacting with you - a part of my community!

I hope you have a very lovely evening, can't wait for your next articles!

Resteemed goldsmith!

I will have to get my staff working on this one...

Your work towards helping others be successful is greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much for stopping by!! I will do my best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67