Reasons Blockchain Projects like Steemit and Arcade City Don't Need Approval from the Crypto World.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

After Two Weeks of Continuous Interaction with Crypto Currency Enthusiasts I Have Come to a Realization.

The Steemit and Arcade City communities don't give two shits about the world of Crypto. I think this is exactly the types of projects we need for Crypto to attract the masses.

First I need a little about how I came to this thought. At the beginning of November we were in Buenos Aires, Argentina attending the Latin America Bitcoin Conference better known as laBITconf. The conference itself was phenomenal. I have been around the Bitcoin and Crypto Currency space for a few years but I did not have a chance to meet many of the industry icons. I could build a list of names that would leave any Crypto Currency fans jaws on the floor but that is not what this post is about.

We mingled and were able to build relationships that we know will be very pivotal in the growth of our $200 Social brand. As I said the conference was great but there was one thing that I found to be unnerving. The developers and programmers who attended were not very accepting of the fact that Steemit and Arcade City were our clients. We even had a few people who said we should be careful and not associate our brand with such scams.

It Really is a Simple Idea.

Do you really care how your smart phone works? Probably not and that is ok. The world of Crypto Currency is going through a shift right now that the old school folks might feel uncomfortable with. They are a victim of their own success. These explorers found something new and world changing that allows people to build amazing applications such as Steemit and Arcade City.

That Look the Bitcoin and Ethereum Camps Give the Steem and Bitshares Communities

I am predicting that within a few years there will be a major shift towards the promoters of blockchain projects rather than the developers which has been what we have seen over the last few years. If we want the masses to use these shiny new blockchain toys we have to package them in such a way that they find them useful in their lives.

Do people really think that a cab fare really cares that the Arcade City app that they are using was built on the Ethereum blockchain? Do you think that bloggers who write about sports, travel and cooking care about the vests, steem, sbd or any other Steem blockchain topic when they join? What they care about is the fact they can earn income from their content or build another syndication point for their brand.

SteemFest Changed Everything!

It took me going to SteemFest to really grasp the titanic shift that is happening in Crypto. The conversations were not about block time speeds, hashrates or the best coding language. Most of the conversations were centered around the the future of Steemit and the applications built on the Steem blockchain. It was also nice to see our social media skills being recognized. So many people were asking how they could improve their presence on Steemit and online. Since social media is what I do for a living I fit right in!

Time for the Crypto Currency world to be supportive of these types of projects. I know for a fact that we can change the world at a much faster pace if we collaborate and work together rather than attack other projects. Peace!

Sort:  

For a bit more background on Arcade City through the lens of founder Christopher David, check out this episode of the Crypto Show, produced in Austin TX: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/the-lets-talk-bitcoin-network/id640581455?mt=2&i=377970216. Christopher David has since parted ways with the new dev team (on a certain level), but there is still collaboration and joint strategy. The interview with him is in the 2nd hour segment.

Coming together is of the most powerful order. Together we are the power. Thanks for this post. So glad to have met you both in person. You are truly two beautiful beings.

Oh wow, you definitely left such an amazing impression on Anabell and I. We are thrilled that you were able to make the trip and join us!!

OH YES!! My feelings about you both are the same. Such beautiful people you are and I'm so glad to feel connected like family. A powerful weekend it was indeed. Grateful to have shared it with you.

I for one am very grateful you do work with Steemit! Steemit is my intro to crypto, and I'm loving it. There is just the right amount of techy-ness to make me excited to learn without being too much and off-putting. Steemfest was fantastic in that the devs and coders were very accessible and happy to explain basic concepts to a newbie like myself, which also makes me excited to learn more. One can use Steemit with a very basic, limited understanding of crypto and still thrive. As you say, this makes the blockchain toys very shiny and appealing which ultimately benefits crypto.

Further to my comments from a few mins ago and my quest to keep educating myself on such things as I mentioned, I then found THIS gem of a video in my feed that is 110% related to what @hilarski said in his post here. Here is 6 mins of founder @ned discussing #steemit #apps #blockchain tech and the future of it all --- it is good!

Got cha, gonna give it a watch right now, also gave you a follow as well.

Randy, if you are on steemchat, I'd like to connect privately to learn more of your involvement in Arcade City. Especially interested if you know anything about the team in Antwerp that has taken over development of the Ethereum app and launched the ARC token.

Hi Thylbom, I'm with the Antwerp dev team, glad to answer your questions anytime.

Thx. I appreciate it. I'm following on Slack as well. I'm quite optimistic about the project, and hoping for great things. I've been following for several months beginning with Christopher D and the drama in Austin. The opportunity is definitely there...

For sure, I can do that. I was meaning to get on SteemChat. I signed up early on but have not used it.

I try to sign in later tonight and PM you. I'm in the USA Pacific time zone.

Steemit's commitment to providing a platform for innovation is what has really convinced me as to it's long-term viability. Many crypto that gets rolled out are just coins to be coins. Steemit makes so much more possible. We see it everyday. I'm very envious of all the crypto travel you've been able to experience. Thanks for the post and information.

What we are seeing is really a huge shift in the crypto world. Those who are open-minded will grasp it, the others will be left behind or stay in their corner. The travel has been great but it is time to get back to work. No more trips for a while.

Well, that is pretty well said!! Amen. So much #Truth in this blog post. And dogs. Dog gif's are great.

"The Steemit and Arcade City communities don't give two shits about the world of Crypto. I think this is exactly the types of projects we need for Crypto to attract the masses". This right here. Resteemed and looking forward to more articles from you.

Thank you for stopping by and checking it out! SteemFest really showed me what is possible when people look past the technology and utilize its capabilities.

Boom, you nailed it, I literally posted the same thing and then started reading the comments, the fact people are picking up on similar talking points here, means @hilarski is really really onto something here. Big time.

100% agreed. Steemit is a cut above the majority of the rest Imo, I also really like what arcade city is doing, the fact that uber doesn't use a crypto is beyond me "were decentralized" ahhh not your not "were outside of laws" umm nope... arcade city could though if they wanted to.

Cryptos changed the game from "legal tender" to freedom.

Well, clearly I am following you now after all this LOL. Pls. go look at the video link on this from @ned I just posted from #steemfest !! 6 mins. in this thread.

I think it was the theme we noticed at the event. It was unlike any crypto event ever.

Wow man, that is a great post.

I am thankful for the help I have received from you and Ana and even your mom, in my #Crypto journey here and in general. I have been very excited to see your updates on your 2 weeks of travel and checked your profile a couple times even.... seeing if I missed something - but you have been immersed and focused and I am glad for that, you are one of the best people to discuss these topics with your last 2 weeks soaking in the Crypto world. I have been "investing" a lot of my time LEARNING rather than doing other things.

I found this post really really insightful and hope a ton of people read it and interact with you and Ana and grow everything. Everywhere.

For where I am at, with all this learning my way -- when you said this it stuck out to me big time:

"... Do you really care how your smart phone works? Probably not and that is ok. The world of Crypto Currency is going through a shift right now that the old school folks might feel uncomfortable with. They are a victim of their own success. These explorers found something new and world changing that allows people to build amazing applications such as Steemit and Arcade City...."

I appreciate your time and talents a lot and I hope you know how much. All this is bigger than any one of us.

Then again, Icebreakers and Building Community usually are.

Sincerely -- Barry.

Why would anyone ever need approval? The hell does that even mean

Approval in the sense that you want to be accepted. Currently we are the red head step child but that is a great place to be. ; )

Gingers are just gross and soulless though. Steemit and arcadecity is more like a pretty girl with glasses on that nobody realizes is hot yet.

The challenge the crypto world also may now face is that Steemit is also a gateway drug to altcoin mining. It was for me. I found my way to this site, figured out how to use it, and all of sudden had bitcoin decimals sitting on an exchange. Now I have a used mining rig and am getting ETC. But, this technology is so new to me that I seems everyday I have to learn something new about technology. So, as I said, Steem is a gateway to a new world for some....

You went down the rabbit hole!! Have fun this world is amazing.

Yeah, and frustrating! I have spent days to trying how to compile a .c file to an .exe so i can get my miner's cpu mining Dash. No luck. I hate being a newb.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52