There will soon be Private Messaging on Steemit. But will those messages be encrypted?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

In this post-NSA world, every creep wants to know what you're up to, so we need encryption, or we're standing naked before them. These lowlife scoundrels just want to market things to you, or pretend like they can stop "pre-crime".

Encryption isn't a joke, with so many creeps spying on us.

Private messages should be private, right? So I recommend OTR encryption!
That's "Off-The-Record". Check it out here: https://otr.cypherpunks.ca/

Of course, I'd be happy if the developers implement any sort of strong encryption into their private messaging platform. I'm not picky, as long as it's powerful.

But if encryption is implemented, will there be any troubles? One problem I can think of is that it'll be tough to report harassment.

This can be solved with an easy to use "Block User" feature, which would block the offending user just for the person receiving the unwanted messages. A fine solution that doesn't involve invading everyone's privacy just because of a few bad apples.

It's not a secret that the NSA spies upon all that you type over the internet. You don't even need to press the "Post" button, and I bet something is recording what you type and sending it off to be analyzed. Even you've noticed that posts get saved if you close the submit page, and then come back to it later. But strongly encrypted messages don't suffer this fate. Sure, the data is recorded, but it's just scrambled non-sense to human or computer, especially if it can only be decrypted once, with a very private key. No backdoors either. Private messages should be private, and not even admins should be able to see.

This sort of thing is absolutely necessary if we want the internet to remain attractive to intelligent people with interesting ideas. I don't want to think that I can't discuss ideas just because they'll be stolen or used badly, nor do I want to have to watch what I say around my friends, out of fear of some malicious authority.

So there you have it. Let's try to get this idea noticed by the admins, and make sure our private conversations stay private! This sort of thing is mandatory in a free, sane society, so let's not fail ourselves.

Encryption is awesomesauce!

~Kitten

Sort:  
  • I'd be really shocked if private message were not encrypted.
  • I'm guessing the "mute" button will function as a block.

I can imagine some people might say "HTTPS is enough".
And that's why I made this post. I can't endure the thought that if this issue goes unnoticed, the private chat might be insecure. Even so, I think the developers are wise.

If they see this post, and all the support it gets, they will probably choose to implement encryption.
They might implement it anyways, and that'd be just dandy.

I wish Steemit could be moved into the Safe Network
when it´s moving into beta stage. THen we would have constant strong encryption! I think Maisafe is such a great project! I hope it will take over the internet one day as the new protocol,after the web.

I agree with you. Private messaging is a matter of time as most people would like to use it.

Its a good idea so lets hope it gets some traction with the devs of Steemit

Hi heretic, I enjoyed your post on feminism,
I invite you to check my latest thought provoking post
The Evolution of a Mother, I think you will get it
http://steemit.com/life/@feminism/the-evolution-of-a-mother

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38