The low value of articles that are not in English

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


I have given has, in the little time that I have in the platform steemit that articles that are written in Spanish or in others languages different to the English, not are taken in has by them whales, being this a bit discriminatory.


Would perhaps in others languages not is can make a good content?, I is very well that the English is the language universal, but as steemit aims to be the platform of the future if nothing more is based in an only language?


Perhaps not serious best a platform of several languages where the cultures is find, and so has articles more varied, of quality and it more important original, feel that is loses the essence of this network social.


I think that are decisions that must take is soon, so that the future of steemit is the best.


Thanks to all that have supported my articles, I what I seek is a steemit in where has more equality, greetings from Venezuela.




Sort:  

I'm new to Steemit, but I'd like to make these points:
(1) Unless you are spending your time translating articles that are in languages you don't speak, figuring out what the writer meant in spite of translation errors, and upvoting them (regardless of whether the article had value for you), then you are discriminating against those writers, according to your article. Really?
(2) Steemit is a new platform. Perhaps a better use of your time, instead of complaining about discrimination, would be to promote the site vigorously in the Spanish-speaking world.
(3) When I read articles, I want something more specific than what you're providing. (I read several of your posts.) For instance, I am interested in what's going on in Venezuela, but I read news voraciously. Tell me DETAILS about life there for you and your friends that I can't get from news reports. Don't just tell me life is bad there; I already know that. Help me to experience life in another place.
(4) Plenty of people on this site have put in the time and practice to become good writers. The reality is that you're competing with them, just as you would be competing with trained, experienced writers if you published a book on Amazon.

is true what says you, capable the word discriminatory, not is it correct, but it did more as a frustration that feel by inside, because not me sale well them things, but I not me going to pay will continue forward, so thanks by your Council.

I'm not sure that "discriminatory" is really a bad thing, particularly in this regard. Am I going to discriminate against an article that I can't read, because it's not in my native language? Definitely! Why wouldn't I? If I can't read it, why would I upvote it or comment on it?

I'd also like to point out hat I actually have tried to read some of the articles written in foreign languages (particularly those that appear to be in Chinese - I'm really interested in learning about what they're talking about over there), but when I put them through Google Translate they're just a garbled mishmash of words due to the imperfect translation technology of today.

The fact of the matter is that articles written in English will be the ones with the most exposure and interaction, simply because most of the users of Steemit are either native English speakers, or have learned English as a second language like yourself. I'm absolutely certain that some articles written in other languages are worth reading - but as most of us just don't have a familiarity with those languages, we simply aren't going to be as active when it comes to upvoting and commenting on them.

has reason, but I it said more is that there are good articles in Spanish, and of any way not are rewarded, as also in this network social there are people that not speak English and also, looking for read them articles in English without know nothing of the language, best regards

It could just be South America and Spain haven't had a big audience on Steemit. If you want Spanish articles, you should go out and upvote them yourself. If you can get the Spanish community more active, then you'll get exactly what you want.

thanks for your recommendation

Hi @henriquez147, i'm a Spanish native speaker, but at the same time find myself quite comfortable around English.
Perhaps the use of the word "discriminatory" was not the best choice, since by reading the rest of the article I don't see that you meant that way.
In the other hand, playing as a greenpeace lawyer protecting the whales, i don't see why they will upvote [or anyone] something they don't understand. I know i won't upvote an article written in vietnamese, not based in discrimination, but face in the fact i have no idea what it says.
Maybe in the future there are more spanish speakers here that can create a good audience; this will simplify my life greatly since it will turn out to be easier for me to write my posts , but for that WE need to promote steemit in our community or social networks.
Maybe as a work around until then, you can tell your stories with images, since those transcend languages.
Cheers

I think the more diverse Steemit becomes the less this will be a problem give it time my friend upvoted!

Thanks for your support constant, will be waiting to see that happens.

I think you are a whining pussy my dear friend hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88