All events in your life are neutral until you label them.

in #steemit2 years ago

During my recovery from a near-death cycling accident, I struggled with many “life isn’t fair” moments. Instead of feeling grateful to be alive, I was bitter and angry.

At 33 years old, I thought I was at the prime of my life and worried who I would become after I recovered. When I unloaded my frustrations on a mentor, he told me, “All events in your life are neutral until you label them. Nothing has meaning until you give it meaning.”

This shifted my perspective and showed me the possibilities. Even though things looked dark and difficult, I had a choice. I could be a victim or use the opportunity to create a better version of myself and inspire others.

bd7d9ec4-45d3-4c81-8d3b-0dc0ac352461-Mike_Obrien.webp

That advice helped me reach the corporate executive suite and now helps me inspire other corporate leaders to shift their perspectives and see the possibilities. —Michael O’Brien, executive business coach, author of “Shift: Creating Better Tomorrows,” and founder of Peloton Coaching and Consulting and The Pace Line Leadership Academy; read Michael’s story and connect with him on Facebook and LinkedIn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85