Want To Know How To Make It Big And Become A Whale? Swim Like One!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

When I'm a whale, I will ____________. How would you fill in the blank?

I think we all have our dreams about making it big and what we're going to do when we become whales. But how do we get there?

Now, you're probably checking my rep right now and thinking, what do you know about being a whale?

Nothing. LOL

But I do know a little about success. By the time I was 22, I had helped start a school and was making enough to buy a duplex (why didn't I buy crypto ... ughhh). I ended up training three people to take my position so I could leave everything and teach in the Middle East. But that's another story.

Since I was 16, I've worked all kinds of jobs ... pretty much taking whatever opportunity presented itself and learning as I went along. With every position, I learned how to succeed. And I think that what I learned there applies to this platform too.

Don't worry, you won't have to wait until I become a whale to see what I mean...

Success comes by learning, doing, and striving for improvement.

Which whales on this platform do you admire most?


Whales tend to get a lot of attention and scrutiny. But this gives you the opportunity to see how they respond and what they're doing to get all that attention.

Find the ones that you admire and learn from them. Imitate what they do. Don't spam their blogs and wait for them to give you handouts ... instead, do what they do.

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

What kind of content do they create? Do you like the format, style of writing, regularity of their posts? Whatever it is, try to do that with your own content.

A few quick reminders: 1. Do NOT copy and paste their work as your own. 2. Do NOT translate their work and post it as your own. 3. Do NOT translate their work into three other languages and back into English and post it as your own. [I actually had students who would do this ... and I'm pretty sure I found someone here who had done that as well.]

What kind of behavior do you expect from whales?


I've seen whales (and dolphins) who are consistently giving back to the community. I've also seen whales who place huge last-minute bids on bots and ruin the ROI for everyone ... 😕

What do you like to see whales doing? Do that too!

Maybe you're thinking ... "I love it when a whale helps out their followers, but I don't have enough to share right now."

But that's not true.

Everyone has something they can offer and contribute.

Maybe you can't give your followers a lot of Steem or SBD. But what can you give them?

Sharing with the community


I'm just plankton, but I recently held a design giveaway. Participants didn't have to do anything besides share their favorite colors, an image, etc. so I could tailor the design to them.

You might have a skill you can share. You might just provide really great content. Maybe you share something that you've learned since being on Steemit. Maybe you just show gratitude to your readers.

Helping your readers


I think we all like to see whales who give back to their faithful followers and readers, whether that's by upvoting and replying to comments or giving out rewards.

Guess what? We can be doing the same!

And don't stop there! Make it easier for your followers to get good curation rewards. By posting on a schedule, followers can upvote my content during the peak time (20-25 minutes after I post) and HOPEFULLY maximize their curation reward.

Additionally, I'm using the SBD that I've earned to buy upvotes from bots. Though I'm still testing out how this works, my goal is to put my "earnings" back into my posts so that they can be distributed among those who regularly upvote my content. I may take a loss at times, but if my followers can benefit in curation rewards, then it wasn't a complete waste!

Closing thoughts


I recently heard a celebrity comedian being asked, "You're the top celebrity in your country right now. How has that changed you?"

He responded, "I couldn't wait to look down on everyone once I made it big, but now I realize that if I did that, I'd lose my ratings." 😄

But in all seriousness, if we think we'll start being generous just as soon as we become whales ... then we're wrong. We have to practice being the whales now that we want to be someday in the future.

Happily, Steemit is the type of platform that rewards generosity. Some whales were lucky and struck it big. But many whales will acknowledge that they couldn't be where they are without the support of their friends and followers.

How do you help your followers?

If you have thoughts on how plankton and minnows can be generous and help others on Steemit, please let me know in the comments! I'd love more ideas and suggestions.

If you liked what you read, but aren't sure how to act swim like a whale, please leave a comment below. Hopefully, I can give some advice and if not, then maybe a whale will happen by who can answer your questions! :D

Please considering sharing this post with your followers. Maybe if more people acted like generous whales, we'd find this a happier sea to swim in!

Sort:  

When i am a whale i'm going to live off just enough and share the rest around here!

I’m really really thankful you’re sharing what you can now through the curation leagues and fun “top 10” posts! You’ll be a great whale someday! I’ll just be really sad to see your rep change, then you won’t be abh1234567 anymore ;)

lol no kidding!

12345 67

Too funny!

Good stuff! I think the future of this platform really depends on the social aspect of the community, voting, commenting, conversations, etc. If I ever make it to whale or even dolphin status, I hope to interact a lot in the comments section. That's something i admire most in some of the whales, the willingness to have conversations with a newbie like me. I'm not sure about the not thing though, I think it's counter productive to the idea of the platform. Do you think you'll be using bots long term?

I definitely agree! I love seeing whales who interact with plankton :)

I probably won't continue using the bid bots (I read an article by @bycoleman ... it's just data but it basically explains why people ruin the ROI ... if they make it to the trending list, they stand to get back everything they lost times two or three or more.) In that aspect it does seem counterproductive because you're essentially placing a false value on content. I like the idea though of being able to give earnings back to followers, I just don't know how to do that. @abh12345 recommended I encourage followers to comment more and keep upvoting those.

I do like bots like @treeplanter. They upvote you, but you also get to help a good cause. So far I've only used that to upvote other people's posts but plan to start doing it on mine.

If you have any suggestions for helping followers (or like what someone else on the platform does), I'd love to hear about it!

Thanks for the mention. And yes, these big spenders really don't care about the ROI on the direct bid, just whether or not they can get to the trending list and up their total payout and their reputation in minutes instead of months. And it works very well, just is it right? I personally would like to see them snuffed out.

I'm looking a creating a bot that will total the payments made to each bidbot per post and post it on every article that uses them. I have to get a MUCH larger reputation before I can start, there will be repercussions.

So something between a bid bot and a flat rate bot? That sounds interesting! You should write a post about the idea ... I'd like to read more and maybe you'll find more support!

The bot is the easy part (see @introbot), but I may have said too much already, some people take their rewards steam VERY seriously. Keep a lookout, my guess is it will happen (even if I don't do it.)

Blessings!

I like it, would make it much more transparent, especially for those bots that don't post when hey get used. You probably would make some people quite angry though lol. I saw a pretty fast fund with Haejin early this month. Steem gets taken very seriously.

Yes, on the pretty angry part. Can you imagine being attacked by 50 angry Haejins!

I'm going to get my ducks in a row first.

Talk about account death. By the time I started following the action the guy had a -17 reputation lol. I don't blame you at all.

Wow, I had absolutely no idea that upvote bots could be that lucrative. There is some 5x returns on there.

The commenting and conversation has been what I've attempted so far. I try to start conversations and upvote really good content (like what's going on right here lol) and do the same for people that comment on my stuff. I also try to coment and upvote on the good plankton articles just as much as I do the whales and dolphins. My view is that it's hard to see one plankton but, a large mass of them can change the color of the ocean. Got to stick together.

I think key to the comment section is good conversation building comments, not the "excellent post, goodbye" junk that pollutes the comment section. I think fishing for upvotes that way could be just as bad for the platform as upvote bots.

I'm pretty new to all this so still learning. Maybe I'll figure some more stuff out and be able to pass on info on how to help good content creators and followers/followed.

Thanks for this conversation, I appreciate people who truly engage on this platform!

Your post is an eye opener. Thanks

Thanks @expensive717! I just visited your account and enjoyed reading your article about putting a smile on someone's face :) But I noticed you haven't posted in awhile. I hope you'll keep writing! I'm following you now and look forward to watching you grow! It looks like you already have the generous mindset it takes to succeed!

Thanks so much for making out time to read my post and for encouraging me. I appreciate you from the bottom of my heart

Your was post was really enlighten and learnt somethings i didn't know, Thanks

Hi @oyakhs4u! Thanks for stopping by! I just read your post from a month ago "My Day." There have been times in my life where I've lived on very little, but I can't say I've ever run out of food ... I can't imagine what that must be like. And yet you didn't write in an attitude of complaint, just statement of fact. I'm glad you're here on Steemit! I hope you'll keep putting your time and efforts into writing good content. If you don't mind some input, I'll be happy to follow your posts, give suggestions and an upvote if I think the content is deserving.

Thank you very much, will be following you and your post too, hoping to learn a trick or two from you. Smiles

That's great! :) I'm going to start writing one post a week sharing things I've learned with tips and suggestions. Please feel free to give me feedback and let me know if there's anything you'd like to know more about!

Alright, will be expecting the post

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87