Why I Steem and you should too!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Why do I Steem? Why wouldn't I? Steemit is a platform where you get paid to share. You get paid for something most of the world is doing for free. You can find a voice to share, teach and blog or you can rant to your heart's content and could walk away with a nice chunk of change for it.

I don't use Steemit solely for the payouts but it definitely is what drew me here. It's a revolutionary idea that I think will be the norm 10 years from now. If you don't think Facebook will emulate this or Reddit or other sites that haven't even launched yet then you are in the dark on where the world is heading.


I joined Steemit over the summer and have had an up and down affair with it. I love it one day and can't shut up about it and then the next day I'm just casually browsing. Sometimes I find it hard to post and sometimes I post 5 times a day. That's the beauty of it. There are no set rules for posting, viewing, commenting and upvoting. You make Steemit what you want it to be.

If you make Steemit a part of your day you'll find that in no time you're blogging about everything. One of the best things I've found is that I'll post something thinking that there's no one out there that will possibly find the post interesting and then all of a sudden I'll have comments from total strangers encouraging me or showing genuine enthusiasm about the obscure subject I'm talking about. For some one who has a hard time making friends it can really be a mood changer to have others share your interests.

To make the best most noticable posts I've found it has to be more than a blurb and less than a novel. I don't know if there's a set amount of words you need but I would try to keep it above 5 paragraphs unless you're just sharing a picture or meme.

One thing I love about Steemit is that not all rewards are the same. How much an upvote is worth all depends on how many vests a user has. The more Steem Power, the more vests (at least that's how I understand it) the more their reward can be worth. They then have the option to spread it around as they see fit. They can dial back what their upvote is worth or go crazy and change someone's day by upvoting at full power. They call these upvoters with extreme power Whales. I had the privilege of having one upvote me on an early post and it was the most exciting thing that's happened to me on Steemit. Now it wasn't life-changing money or anything but all the posts I'd done up until that point I had received 30 cents to just over a dollar, and then all of a sudden I got a vote up over $50.00. I still get excited thinking about it.

Initially I thought Steemit would be great to add a little pocket change to my spending each week but almost right away I decided not to take anything out of Steemit at least for awhile. I've powered up almost every penny that I've earned on Steemit into Steem Power. It was tough at first but now it's second nature. I made that choice because I think in the future Steemit will continue to grow and early adopters will benefit the most.

I have felt the momentum of Steemit really taking hold lately. I've heard people talk about it in my every day life and have noticed it popping up in online culture. I plan to start evangelising about Steemit and getting the word out more than ever before.

The best part of Steemit I feel is that getting started is free. It's painless and quick and once you get started you can learn the ins and outs pretty quickly. There's so many posts about creating the perfect post, introductory post, tags and voting that it's almost impossible to get slowed down once you start researching it.

I'd be happy to help anyone out with any questions they have or anything they're curious about. If I don't have the answer I'm sure I can find the answer for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76