How to be successful on Steemit.

in #steemit7 years ago

Now this will depend largely on your definition of success.


It doesn't matter if you have 4000 followers on Steemit that you gained through frivolous follow for follow or such shallow endeavors. I've seen accounts with thousands of followers getting 4 upvotes on average per post and their accounts have barely anything in them. So what does it mean to have all those followers if they're not following you for the right reasons?

Then there those with relatively few followers who consistently appeal to their audience through providing great content and are building slowly but surely. Its tempting to look at this platform and get wrapped up in the money side of things and just up vote yourself as much as possible, but from what I've experienced its authenticity that wins out in the end. Not all your followers will see your posts all the time and sometimes a post that took you hours to create will be largely missed or not get the attention you feel it deserves, thats just the way it is.

soap-bubbles-2417439__480.jpg

The way I see it, you have to see this platform as a creative outlet that you can at times learn and gain a lot from and sometimes give back through providing your own unique faceted perspective of the world. If your intentions are purely making money, then I'm not sure its the right place to be coming from. Ironically its when you don't care about the money and just do what feels good and what you're passionate about, that people will take notice and so you build a quality following that is there for the right reasons, and ultimately money follows.

Now I'm not saying I haven't been guilty of these things, but in my short time here on Steemit I've slowly started realizing some things. Its like a living, breathing organism in many ways. The collective consciousness ebbs and flows, weeding out the weak handed and frivolous and nurturing the authentic and dedicated. You get what you give at the end of the day, there are no short cuts to success, in anything and Steemit is no exception.

So before you write that post complaining how you're not making any money here, or your posts aren't receiving the number of upvotes you'd like, ask yourself - What are you doing thats of value? Are you participating and getting to meet people you genuinely want in your circle? Or are you just here to take? If the answer is the latter, then thats a good indication of why you are not receiving.

I've seen some days I lose a few followers, that doesn't upset me. I don't really want people here that aren't interested in what I have to offer. Its the ones that stay that are important, that I build a repor with, and maybe even make a friend or two. Come on, thats the real value here, surely. The fact that you get paid while doing this, is just a bonus.

Be real, have fun, give and dont expect anything in return - thats when you'll start to gain the most here.

Peace & Love.

hattori hanzo signature.png

Sort:  

Thank you for the well written article. I'm plugging away and growing my following organically. It's a diary of my 72lbs in 72 days through 72 hour fasts that I would normally be posting on FB, I get to give away SBD every day to lucky contestants and be part of game changing next level social media in it's relative infancy.
You've been followed, upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you @blaineb, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)
Your diary sounds interesting, will follow you to learn more.

Terrific example of quality posting for the long term. I'm following for more. Thanks for the great attitude--we need more of that on Steemit!

Thanks @cristof! I really appreciate the compliment, especially coming from a writer :)

That's very well written, I find it's a wonderful place to learn and meet people. Steemit is also encouraging me to write down my thoughts and better understanding myself. There is a lot more to gain from steemit than just money

Thank you @rlyeh, yes I've also learnt a lot here about myself and met some quality people. Your body modification looks really interesting. The forked tongue is wild :)

Well said! Good luck in all your endeavours here on Steemit. I'm happy to be following you and look forward to seeing more authentic posts from you @hattorihanzo!

Thanks @lyndsaybowes! I'll be keeping it real :) Great to have you here x

A good article and one that I think all newbies need to read - maybe my posts aren't as exciting as others but its a way to get my fathers story out there and if people like it - thats great - if not I don't really sweat it - it will all come out in the end - after all I've only been on Steemit a few weeks - I like what you wrote

Very informative and I agree with a lot of what you said!

good educative post right here! upvoted

Great post! What you say does not only apply to the Steemit community but also to life itself.

Thank you @connyholm, indeed it does sir.

This post has received a 5.36 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hattorihanzo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33