Drunk Comic-Con Stories | This Year's Goals | How I’ll Use Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

 Tampa Bay’s comic con is like the bastard child of San Diego’s. Not quite Jon Snow, not quite Ramsey Bolton, more like Gendry, it’s got potential to be awesome, but you just don’t know. I’ve been once before and it was a hilarious experience, so my friends and I are deciding to go back again this year, capture some of our mischief, and spread steemit along the way.

Last Comic Con We...

Pre gamed in the parking lot with gin and tonics, 

And since thats not enough we, then decided to fill water bottles up and bring them in because who wants to drink nothing but shitty Bud Light all day. Turns out it’s not difficult at all, as we literally just walked through with them in our hands and chatting the whole time.

Tried to tip this young robotics team Dogecoin

When I saw the logo in their slideshow as funding source. They say the have to ask the friend for the key, and I didn’t understand why they didn’t just make another wallet right there, I was dropping hints left and right. There robot sucked anyway, there I said it. They kept saying, “real robotics isn’t what you see in sci fi movies, its practical, like this little box robot that picks up cones.” I couldn’t help but think ”not yet, and you should be the ones proving that”

Ransacked the foam sword fighting event. 

It took us forever to find the foam fighting place so when we finally did, the mead had been flowing and we just barged the place. I remember just grabbing a giant sword that was sitting on the wall and some kid dressed fully like a knight screamed “anything but shanzi” I didn’t want any trouble seeing that he was donning his mail, i’ve learned you got to choose your opponents wisely in the lists.


As we start fighting amongst ourselves, the rest of the people realize were not complete meatheads but we are just are drunk and extremely excited we made it in before it closed. We were into it! If an arm got hit, we’d fling the sword and keep it behind our back, we seemed fun to challenge. We were screaming ole’ english profanity and cursing each other by the old god’s and the new. We were also, trying to take each other's heads off, and I don’t think that registered fully with the challengers because of how fun it seemed.


My two friends, one 6’6 and could dress as The Hound for sure if his face was messed up was battling my other friend who is 6’3 and a great athlete. Immediately after their war was over this pale Mclovin’ess character starts circling my athletic friend pointing a sword in his face. Being the competitor he is, he accepts the challenge by stepping back and drawing his sword.
Within one second my friend clobbers this kid right on the chin with force that would have actually taking his head off were it real. The kid, froze and his place, red necked says “ughh, didn’t think above the neck counts” … “Ugh.. would you have died?” … “Then it counts”

Dominated the guessing game “Wolf” and other games

So much so that I made this girl quit. She was a cutie too, dressed up like a league of legend's avatar. My flirty “you're the wolf” type comments then turned into me actually thinking she was the wolf and arguing so hard to vote her off that she got up and after our celebration. We would never have worked out anyway. 

Beat the Line For “The Cosplay Contest”

Another brilliant maneuver, we saw the opening when the volunteers were using the side door to get ahead of the line. My friend didn't think twice and bolted through and I followed suit, one of the younger volunteers literally tried to slow me down by asking “I checked your tag alright right” I didn’t even slow down as I agreed “Yes thankyou very much.” We literally got the best seats and proceed to roast every contestant, not heckle, just roast them to ourselves and the surrounding seat mates. 

Made A Bunch Of New Friends

As chaotic as we sounded, we actually got along great with people and had a blast going through all of the exhibits. There’s a strong line between having a good time and ruining other peoples day and we walked it pretty gracefully. Which brings us to this year.

Tampa Comic Con 2016!

My friends and I are going back, and the plans relatively the same. Pre game and go have a blast. Only this time, I plan on looking at some sort of schedule, but also I plan on sharing my experience, and steemit, on steemit. I plan on getting #tampacomiccon on steem going pretty strong this weekend with all sorts of antics going. The plan is to test some growth hacks, smaller events, fun games, and quick interviews to get see how popular I can make #steemit while i’m there. I bet I do pretty good. It would be awesome to find out how many people I signed up. The key is going to be showing live the effects of this platform. This is not only a reason for me to go back and goof off at a nerd convention, but also a good place for me to get people's feedback on steemit in a live setting.

Example of Growth Tactics i’ll test

Saturday at 9am there will be an event on “Crowdfunding your next project”, im going to walk in there and convince all of them to get onto steemit and kickstart #tampacomiccon

Some Events We May End Up Covering(Help Us Decide!)

  • A BRIEF HISTORY OF ANIME IN THE US
  • SO YOU WANT TO BE A WRITER?
  • STAR WARS Q&A FEATURING IAN MCDIARMID AND RAY PARK
  • Nerd Speed Dating
  • ZOMBIE ESCAPE ROOM: PRESENTED BY CAN YOU ESCAPE?
  • ALL THINGS PARANORMAL
  • MAGIC CITY JEDI – LIGHTSABRE COMBAT
  • 2ND ANNUAL “I WANT TO BE A POKEMON MASTER!” TRIVIA CONTEST
  • BELLYDANCING FOR BEGINNERS
  • GAME OF THRONES Q&A
  • ARMS AND ARMOR
  • COMIC BOOK WRITING WITH JIM SHOOTER
  • THE MYTHOLOGY OF SUPERNATURAL
  • PUNSLINGERS: A COMEDY GAME SHOW FOR WORD NERDS
  • GAME DEVELOPMENT 101 (LIONWOLF GAMES)
  • TAMPA BAY COMIC CON’S ANNUAL COSPLAY CONTEST
  • THE GREAT AND POWERFUL TIM
  • BORDERLANDS: ASSAULT ON TAMPA BAY COMIC CON!
  • The Grid Game Section

Full list of events here. It would be awesome to get the communities support on this one
#steemit #tampacomiccon #evangelism #life

Please Note** I couldn't upload image for some reason, that's why it's text only.

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.9 and reading ease of 77%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44