Kings of Mediocrity

in #steemit6 years ago

cd7b19bd-f4fe-45fd-86a8-126889a6fb2d.png

Skills, talent and imagination
They all hold me in fascination
For I have none of the above
But on them I want to ride the life’s curve

Mine was just a brave fool’s wish
That I didn’t want to squish
So, I played along with my own farce
More I tried, the more they became scarce

It didn’t take me long to understand
That I had overplayed my hand
We might be created equal in the whole
But this world isn’t the same for each soul

Maybe I’ll try to keep it quiet
Read well and improve my minds diet
Talk less and listen more they said
But all they wanted was for me to play dead

You think that this is fun for me to say
Just to speak I had a whole tribe to betray
Some were blessed with a prophecy
While I was just cursed with mediocrity

So, I carry this curse as my pride
I see no reason for it to hide
Soon this curse will be a badge of honor
While I dump those decrees at the next corner

-hashcash

Sort:  

"cursed with mediocrity"

Love it! Fantastic way to phrase it.

Good thing is the internet was invented for everyone to overcome their mediocrity and rise above. We can study any topic and dig deeper than any university book would allow us. It even gives us a platform to express our thoughts and feelings, with the odd chance that every once in a while something ingenious might come out of it. Like this here poem.

hey, @hashcash.

I'm not sure who the person cursed with mediocrity is supposed to be, but I don't think it's you. :) Even if it sounds like you want to own it anyway.

Great poem with heart and rhythm.

I think any talent I might have now has taken years to develop. Sometimes decades. There are some I wish I could make better, like drawing. But I don't think that's going to happen. I don't have the patience. My imagination is larger than my ability. In other words, we all have some level of mediocrity to overcome. So, we wear it like a badge of honor. :)

In other words, we all have some level of mediocrity to overcome. So, we wear it like a badge of honor

Dude you have no idea how good it feels to know that somebody sees the same thing here that I can as well.

Well, I think I am, especially if you say so. :)

We're just never going to be good in everything, and there are some things, like being a good person and honoring family that are typically going to be more important anyway. So talent without love or compassion for others is wasted. Or at least, it's not as good as it could be otherwise.

But we all have something we can do that we can also improve on. That's where I'm trying to get to myself.

Glad that you like it :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04