You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why C+ Students Get Rich

in #steemit7 years ago

Brilliant. You're actually getting into the next level of this information. I agree great minds often times don't jive with the simplicity of school.

Then there are people who get good grades in school as a means to an end. It sounds like you are going for good grades to get a huge payoff. You have a plan and you're playing the game to attain your goals. I'm totally on board with this approach.

I think the disconnect is with people who want good grades just for the sake of having good grades. If the end game is good grades then it doesn't help.

In my own experience I got my BS in Economics and graduated with honors. I actually got good grades. I did it while attending class as little as possible and gaming the system as hard as I could. I never bought in.

I really appreciate your approach. When it comes down to it, each of us has our own path.
I love to see that you don't just fall in line. Keep it up. Sounds like you will be a great doc when you get there.

Sort:  

Have you looked into the structure of the school system that most of the world follows? It is designed after the Prussian empire's schooling system which was meant to create mediocre citizens of average intelligence with equal levels of understanding. Highly intelligent individuals won't take the cookie cutter and break the mold.

I definitely agree with you about the disconnect. Our societies place so much weight on a piece of paper that hardly do people care about the actual knowledge any more.

Good job gaming the system! Not everyone can do it. ;) I attend every class, but I only spend like 30 minutes on homework where we're told the average is 2hours per class.

Yea, I agree the education system is pretty far down a broken road.

I heard a theory that I think has a lot of merit. Our current curriculum structure was developed in the wake of the industrial revolution. It was designed to turn the masses into factory workers to power the engine of America. If you need millions of people who will work on an assembly line, they need to be indoctrinated to follow rules, play their part, believe in the system, not ask too many questions, etc.

I think this lines up with your mention of the Prussians.

I don't know if the powers at be planned this or not. I do know our school system definitely wasn't designed to nurture creative, free-thinkers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50