You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit ROI: What's Your Time Worth?

in #steemit7 years ago

You have approximately 600 Steem in your wallet. In my mind, you have already succeeded. If Steem does like Bitcoin and is worth $3,000 each, your value would be $1,800,000.00! That is almost 2 million dollars USD. I would say that is a pretty good ROI, wouldn't you? Even if Steem never does reach the $3,000 mark, but instead reaches only $1,000.00 each, your invested value will be approximately $600,000.00! Half a million is still pretty darn good for a few months of your time.

Yes, there is the other side of it and it can happen that Steem fails to go mainstream and never gets much past where it is now in value. In that case, you tried, hopefully made a few friends, and learned something along the way.

If I were you, I would probably lay low for a while and just check back every now and then to see how things were going, but focus on being a husband and looking after myself and my family. Those are important factors that cannot be bought back after the fact. I would not let my SP go to waste while I was away. I would delegate my Steem to someone who is working hard to promote the platform and grow my investment while I was caring for my family. After all, isn't that what an investment is? A contribution of wealth that grows over time? If you have to WORK at it, that is not what I consider an investment; to me that is work to earn money.

It saddens me to see that you are thinking of leaving just after I started to follow you, but having read your post and my own experience with family matters and the consequences of not spending enough time with loved ones, I would not try to dissuade you from taking time off. Family definitely comes first. And Like I said, you may already have put enough into it to see a wonderful ROI in a few years.

My family is already grown up and have gone their own ways, so I have the time to keep trying to make this platform grow. If you do decide to take a break, I would greatly appreciate being considered for delegated Steem. I think it would make a huge difference in my ability to grow the small community I am currently trying to build.

Thanks for reading this far and good luck in whatever direction you decide to go.

Sort:  

First off, know that I made an initial investment of my own $$ to get off the ground and I've already lost 10% of that and my voting power is half what it once was (that's just for context...I understood those fluctuations would come). I agree with everything you've said and I appreciate the optimism, but as you eluded to, the timing in my life is the key factor. I'll still invest where I can, and know that I appreciate each and every follow. I'm humbled daily and keep perspective on what attention is worth these days.

I do need to look into delegation options if I take the hiatus more seriously, so I'll keep you in mind. Could I get a snapshot of what exactly you're trying to build?

Oh my... I guess you bought in when it was high. I was wanting to do the same, but got frustrated by the onerous requirements of setting up an account at an exchange, so decided to simply forget about investing and simply earn what I have. Buying in helps with faster growth, but I'm OK with taking it slow.

My plan is quite simple. It involves voting on everyone that participates on my articles, games and contests. Encouraging others to also vote on the responses made by everyone and reminding people that vote-buying is not helping the long term health of the platform. That they should instead actually use their votes to support others and thus build the community as a whole. Every week I give away all the SBD I earn from my contest, plus vote on all contest entries. By having delegated SP, my votes will actually give out a little bit more than they would without the delegated SP. That way, everyone wins something and the contest winner(s) get a bit more.

I am seeing signs of an impending split to a 2nd version of this platform that may come within a month. I suggest you stick around for that because I was told that whatever steem you have at the time of the split will be duplicated into the new currency, Juice. Also, the first rewards will be larger than normal, so worth grabbing a bit of that pie. You sound like a real decent person, so I wouldn't want you to miss out on that opportunity.

Thanks! I certainly don't have intentions to run for the hills, so I'll be around for any juicy forks in the road. Appreciate your perspectives (always) so thanks for being a part of my journey.

You're welcome, and thanks for being part of mine. I did make a post with a link 'for my followers' so that they can opt in now and duplicate their account status for the new coin. I urge you to check it out.

I also JUST finished uploading another post attempting to get more people to become engaged with their followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54