You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DON'T POWER UP YOUR POSTS WHEN SBD IS WORTH MORE THAN USD!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hmmmm... I'm not making myself clear.
It is not the short term I'm thinking about and not even the 50/50 split (we sorted that out already). I'm just thinking about the future and what would happen if Steem takes off like Bitcoin did. Regardless of whether one takes payment in Steem or SBD, if the payout is always calculated on the SBD then I see a problem. Even if it is calculated on the US Dollar, unless the payment keeps up with the value of Steem, it becomes more and more difficult to buy Steem as its value goes up.

Like I suggested in my example:
When Steem was 20 cents, $1 USD (and supposedly 1 SBD) bought 5 Steem.
$1 USD (and supposedly 1 SBD) now buys less than 1 Steem.
When steem is worth $1,000 USD, 1 USD (and supposedly 1 SBD) will buy only 0.001 Steem.

At what point would YOU want to buy your Steem?

Now, on the other hand, if earnings were calculated and paid out based on the value of Steem, then all that doesn't matter.
As the value of Steem goes up, the earnings will rise accordingly and instead of making $10 per post one will get $100 or $1000 so that it is possible to purchase an equivalent amount of Steem with that earning.

As it is now, it takes a while to get out of Minnowship. If it becomes more difficult to purchase Steem it will only become harder to become a dolphin. Make the goal seem out of reach and watch everyone abandon hope.

I'm not concerned about how much MONEY one earns, I'm talking about how difficult it would be to become a Dolphin or Whale. Don't think of money as an asset, but simply as a means to obtain a goal. Does that make it more understandable? Am I onto something here or am I barking up the wrong tree?

Sort:  

Let's try this another way. Let's say it's 50/50 and you are getting 50% STEEM and 50% STEEM POWER. STEEM = $100 US each, and your post payout shows $100. You will receive 0.5 STEEM and 0.5 STEEM POWER.

Now, let's say you receive SBD instead of STEEM. You will receive $50 SBD (expected to be worth about $50 US) instead of $50 worth of STEEM (or 0.5 STEEM). HOWEVER, that SBD is worth $2 USD instead of $1 USD. So you now have $150 US worth of STEEM POWER instead of $100 US once you exchange it for STEEM and Power UP to STEEM POWER.

Yes, I get that. Forget that part.

BTW, I just used the internal market and lost approx. $2.50 as compared to if I had traded outside. I got 10.394 Steem for 15 SBD with internal market.
According to Coin Market Cap, I should have received 11.827 Steem.

19 days ago I Paid 12.159 SBD for 14.144 STEEM (note more steem than SBD).
Today I paid 15 SBD for only 10.394 Steem (note less steem than SBD).
Forget the split thing. Just look at these numbers on their own.

Coin Market Cap is a bit tricky, so it's best to go directly to an exchange. As I wrote in my latest post, poloniex does appear to be processing STEEM/SBD again, and it does seem to be offering a better rate than the internal STEEM Market. But that's a completely different question. If you find an even better exchange rate elsewhere, by all means go for it! Just remember though, poloniex has had many issues lately, and there are still additional trade fees involved. But leaving all that out, here are the numbers I got.

$15 SBD / 1.4430 (internal market) = 10.395 STEEM

poloniex

pay to exchange SBD to BTC for around 2450 currently
from BTC, buy STEEM...

15 SBD = 0.0099885 BTC
STEEM = 0.00078621 BTC * 0.0099885 BTC = 12.721 STEEM (22.4% premium!)
(less exchange fees)

So basically it's implying that SBD is trading at an even greater premium at poloniex than it is on STEEM. Just make sure the people who've had their SBD and STEEM stuck over at poloniex have finally been made whole again first before considering it though!

I figure by the time exchange fees are added in it probably works out near the same. Plus its simpler using the internal market and I don't have an account with any exchanges anyway. I'm hoping by the time I'm ready to actually use my Steem, I can buy stuff with it just the way it is! 1 wallet and that's it! Simple; just the way most people would like it.

Have you figured out that I had 2 distinct and separate issues regarding my original question? The 2nd one has nothing to do with earning more or less money, nor if you take it as Steem or split it. It has only to do with SP and how easy it is or is not, to earn it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65670.18
ETH 2575.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65