You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Proof is in the Pudding (Part Two)

in #steemit8 years ago

I had no idea that StumbleUpon existed. It's almost overwhelming over there. It seems like Pinterest, which I found overwhelming, too. I will have to spend some time there to figure out where my stuff fits and how to use it. The numbers look pretty incredible, though, in terms of people and potential. I will definitely figure this out and use it.

I've been torn between two approaches to Steemit. One is to carve out my content before the 30days is up, and move it to my own website. So Steemit is like an early release. The other is more like you are suggesting, where Steemit is the base and other efforts spread from here.

You definitely have me thinking deeper about how I structure my Steemit posts. I can see putting a Steemit spin on a post for the first few days and then editing the post for longevity - taking out the Steemit references. And some posts are so Steemit focused, that it wouldn't make sense to connect to StumbleUpon. But Steemit has such a short attention span.

I generally have separated my personal and posting selves. Because I do foraging for wild food, which carries risks, I set up an LLC earlier this year.

Anyway, I'm rambling. But thank you for sharing what is working for you. We will all do better if we help each other do better, that's for sure. Thanks for helping me!

Sort:  

I'm glad you were able to sift through what I said and find the valuable points that work for you. The target audience is important. I've had this on my mind since the beginning, that's why I've been so standoffish with the general Steemit culture. I don't have a problem with it, it only goes so far though.

I don't have my own site set up yet. Many others do. I'm going in reverse yet trying to find ways to move forward from here. I think you get it. If enough people enjoy my work, I'll be able to set up that site and have a good pitch for advertisers who might want to listen.

I don't mind sharing this stuff. I do get a chuckle now though when I see people scratching their heads and trying to figure out ways that might work. Those screenshots I shared with the view counts. You can add 100 views to those numbers, even more. There's a progress update for you!

Your viewcount has got to be some of the highest on Steemit. You will do well with your own website and advertisers, too, I bet.

Well, certain articles are doing well. An older one I've mentioned previously is now up to 213. Baby steps though. There are many avenues to explore yet.

You are so right - so many avenues to explore. It will be an interesting year ahead, for sure. Here's to a great 2017 for you! Merry Christmas, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50