You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't put ALL Your Eggs In The Steemit Basket

in #steemit8 years ago

What I got from her point is that a platform can change the rules for the people using it -- and Amazon has sure done that over the years. Recent changes for Kindle books hit some authors and publishers hard, really reducing their income. But it has helped other authors. And the Facebook changes that reduced exposure of posts really affected people's connections to their followers and friends there, so folks had to change what they do or move to other platforms, too. It is nice to have stable platforms out there, but their stability is not our stability (unless we are stockholders, I guess). PS: I liked seeing your image with your comment.

Sort:  

YES! @haphazard-hstead understood what I meant. I wasn't saying that Amazon is anywhere near Steemit, I was just using an example. Because Amazon is a big part of my income. And I know a lot of people who use only Amazon for their income. It's dangerous.

Part of Amazon's changes actually dropped my income. So I know by experience. And It changed overnight so I had no time to prepare. Luckily I had my job at that moment. Otherwise I would have been screwed over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43