Locked out of STEEMIT, feeling blue over my loss of password but still hope for the best.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear steemians, I am Hanna Ju. My account is @hannaju. Recently, I have lost access to my account on steemit due to my own negligence.


I had my master password saved in a notepad on my Windows machine that stayed open at all times. When I needed to log in to steemit.com I would just copy that password and it was done. On Thursday night November 16, while we were sleeping, my windows machine installed some updates and restarted - erasing my password that was in the notepad, which I never saved!

I am so mad at my self but have hope that my account can still be recovered.

I have my old, original, password from steemit when I first registered and I have applied for steemit's account recovery program in case of theft. The thing is, my account was not hacked into or anything like that: It was my fault :( Is there a chance this could bring me back?

It's been two days and counting - I hope my account can be restored and I've written to [email protected] for help.

My little baby and I worked hard posing for photographs and sharing recipes together with other crypto-moms of steemit and we wish to be back soon. Thanks to busy.org ,where I am still logged in through steemconnect, I am still able to communicate my situation to you guys...

I swear I will be a good girl from now on and take care of my account if [email protected] can help. Thank you everyone. Have a good day ~~ and please, always try to take care of your passwords...

With love,
Hanna

Sort:  

I would suggest to stop using Windows. My Linux machine saves the text file in a temporary directory and it will ask me if I want to restore it. Linux also never reboots by itself. It tells you that you should, but never does it itself.

Further, you should not be using your master password.
You should use your posting password for your normal everyday posting.

Your master password should be kept in a safe place. Written down on paper AND saved to a removable thumb drive. Encrypt it and save it to the cloud.

I'm sorry this happened to you, hopefully they can recover your account.

Here's an article I did a while back that will help you understand your Steem keys better.

Keep it Simple - An Explanation of Steem's Public and Private Keys - (Moving from Facebookville to Steemville)

Oh, no...this sucks...I hope your old password can help in restoring your account and generating a new pass.

resteemed. maybe someone can help.

Am really sorry about the loss of your password.

My advice when you recovery it try and save it manually too.

I am so sad and feel like disable !!!
I hates myself a thousand of times.(ノ_<。)
Through this big mistake I learned a lot! (つω`。)
Thank you of all you Steemians !

Have computer programmer take a look at your machine, mybe there might still be a log of the last things you typed in the notepad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56