Steemit Stalking: ๐Ÿ” Can You Learn Anything From Looking In Someone's Steemit Wallet?

in #steemit โ€ข 7 years ago

One of the interesting things about Steemit is that your wallet is open for all to see.
I decided it would be a fun activity to look through other peoples wallets and see what I could learn or discover.

Things I Saw:

1.๐Ÿ‘ฌ Friendly Advice ๐Ÿ‘ญ

In one person's wallet I saw this piece of advice from @hilarski, accompanied by a gift of SBD, reccommending to sell the SBD on Bittrex and buy Steem there.

I have never done this before, I have only converted SBD to Steem in the internal market, I had a spare $8 SBD, so I thought I would test it out and exchange $4 in Bittrex and $4 internally and see if there was any difference.

As you can see in my wallet history I did receive a little more Steem converting through Bittrex than internally. Through Bittrex I recieved 3.458 Steem for my $4 SBD and through the internal market here on Steemit I received 3.401 Steem, so there was a difference of 0.057. Which I guess I was kind of dissapointed by, after being excited by @hilarski's comment.

Perhaps I misunderstood the comment, and it doesn't really matter where you exchange your SBD, but @hilarski's point could have simply been that exchanging SBD for Steem and Powering it up will help you to get more value from it....

2. Who is a fan of @randowhale? ๐Ÿณ

Think randowhale is just for minnows? Or you are a minnow but not sure if randowhale is a good thing for your posts? Even the big players in the game are using randowhale on all of their posts!


3. Who likes to win competitions? ๐Ÿ’ฐ

It is fun to see occasionally when people have won competitions! It can be some inspiration to go and enter a competition yourself, and remind you how many different competitions are out there.

4. Who has beef with who? ๐Ÿ˜ก

4. ๐Ÿ’• Fun Ideas For The Future! ๐Ÿ’ก

I thought it was kind of nice to see people sending their fellow Steemians little tokens of appreciation in the form of Steem or SBD. I like the Steem that was sent to celebrate 500 followers, I feel like I want to do something like that if I got to 500, what do you guys think?

5.๐ŸšซAnd occasionally people not wanting to receive funds from strangers ๐Ÿ˜‚

Have you guys ever looked through your favourite Steemian's wallet just to see what they do in there? Find anything juicy? Let me know in the comments! ๐Ÿ˜ Thanks for reading!

Sort: ย 

I found out about Steem Health by looking at someone's wallet :D Really great account to follow for a chance to win some Steem :)

ooo Steem Health!! I'm going to check that out :) thanks so much for the tip !! :)

Good morning to all.. Excellent post! I'll be leaving now.. Think I'll go peep into some wallets!! Have a great day fellow Steemer. ๐Ÿ˜Keep On Steemin On!!

haha that made me laugh out loud, happy peeping :) !!!

One day When I'm a whale... I'm going to send everyone .0001 Steem and for the memo put "3rd place in the Twerkin for Steem Contest" Just in hopes to see it on a post like this... Nice post

hahaha that's a great idea :)

Freakin genius!! Hahaha!! ๐Ÿคฃ Keep On Steemin On!

OH MAN, i like you. you give me ideas. you have inspired me to do some games with memos, what about some kind of awesome 'hide and seek' style of find the clues kinda game, could be urls, references, landing pages, i'm gonna have fun with this. . .

yes... a hide and seek game with memos in wallets would be AMAZING! you should definitely do it :)

i've sent you a tip and a memo. i hope that resolves everything. MUHAHAHH!!

hahaha... anyone having a peep in my wallet later will probably be confused and amused :)

you started it! :) hahah! :)

haha!!! love the follow up transfer :)

had to do it, you made me a little bit paranoid. haha, YES and SORRY combined! :)

OmGG @hannahlicious I just can't get my work done when my eyes meet your post.. I just had to click on the title of this to reveal the mistery lying behind it..
You're gioing to make me lose my money on forex, while I'm trading .. the urge to click this title was far more than to look how much money I'm losing at the moment lolzz... I just needed to say this but i have 3 seconds left, so I'll read this post when I'm back from my misery..
Thanks in advance..
You are a great content creator btw....

hahaha! oh no, don't let me make you loose money!!
best of luck with the trading, hope it will be a good day for you!
and thank you so much :)

Thank you

There is nothing exciting happening in my wallet yet ๐Ÿพ

Great post @hannahlicious :) im definitely a wallet stalker as well :P as of topic 1--->in small amounts it wont make much of a difference,but big amounts do make alot of difference

haha! glad i'm not the only one @gingerninja.
ahhh okay cool, so it does make a difference! I will do it through bittrex all the time in future then :)

Cool :) enjoy!

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

Here's my (non-expert) take on the comment by @hilarski

The main difference is actually between selling SBD Vs using the 'Convert to Steem' option on the SBD balance drop down.
This also depends on the current exchange rate of SBD to steem etc. Selling SBD on Bittrex or the internal market is usually advisable due to the price increase of SBD which should be pegged at around 1USD but is currently higher due to what I will just call 'Market forces'
[as it has to do with the exchange, the current steem price and the mechanism (effectively a debt mechanism against the steem price) by which SBD is valued.]

The most reliable long term strategy is probably just looking at the current bid price on an exchange (like bittrex) Vs the internal market keeping fees in mind.

Never thought about what you could learn from other peoples wallets! Really fascinating.
Thank you for your post. I guess I'll look into it more often now :D

thanks so much for reading @vandaze!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11