The Miracle of Meditation

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians

I started meditating only three years ago and it is one of the best experiences I had in my life. I was doing my own research about different religions in the world and their similarities. I was looking for the most common things between all of them and found out, that it was meditation. All prophets, teachers, healers had spiritual knowledge and performed what we call "Miracles" after meditating.

meditation-2214532_960_720.jpg

Meditation is an awesome habit to start and very difficult to keep. Since my childhood I wasnt able to sit in the lotus pose and was always avoiding it. When I started meditating I was sitting on a carpet and leaning against a wall. That helped me to feel comfortable and focus with keeping my spine straight. I had Nyctophobia (Fear of Dark) and had to struggle with it for years. I loved to meditate at late night, so that I can focus better. But I was afraid to stay alone in the dark with my eyes closed. It was a big challenge for me, because I had to open my eyes again and again. I started using candles and controlling my thought, until I became brave :) I just mastered it and overcame my fear this week. Now I can meditate in the dark room without having any stupid scary thoughts. I can focus better and even feel better.

photoshop-2845779_960_720.jpg

I will tell you about one experience that I had while meditating three years ago and would really like to know, if anyone of you had a similar experience or understand what it was about.

It was my first week practicing meditation. I set down in the dark room with my eyes closed and had one candle on. I tried to meditate and free my mind. It was very difficult for the first 30 minutes and lost concentration two times, but it worked out in the third time. I was focusing on a vibration or a sound in my head when suddenly my head became heavier. I started seeing lights like starts around me and I was moving in a very high speed between them. I saw a structure of lights and wires in the front that I felt love towards it. Somehow I could control my speed to move faster toward the structure. Once I reached and was inside it, I slowed down, I felt love and peace that I never experienced before. The experience lasted for some seconds and I came out again in high speed, back where I was. I opened my eyes and thought "Why am I back". I was about 45 minutes away, but felt like two or three minutes.

This was the most beautiful experience I had and wish to have again. I need really to free my mind and focus to experience it. I couldn't explain what it was, but I know that I want to be there again. Now I try to dedicate myself to my practice on a regular basis. Set aside one hour every day of the week. Wake up early and first thing I do is meditate at least for 15 minutes before opening the window and having my coffee. I try to meditate again in the afternoon and before I go to bed. I feel more peaceful and happy than the last months.

candle-2738529_960_720.jpg

There are different meditation techniques that you can employ in your practice. Many beginners prefer guided meditations and you can find many of them on YouTube or App. Store. Once you feel comfortable with guided meditations, you can start experimenting with others until you feel that you have found the one which suits your goals.

  • You can sit peacefully and free your mind. Focus on your breath in and out.
  • You can watch the sky, the stars and the moon. Whether you do it in the day time or at night, your thoughts and stress will start vanishing.
  • Focusing between your eyebrows and concentrate your mind.
  • Use meditation music to help you relax and focus.

meditation-1794292_960_720.jpg

Start by sitting down in the lotus pose or on a chair, if you feel more comfortable. Close your eyes and breathe through your nose. Focus your attention on your breath, because it is always there, so you can pay attention to it. Your mind will start to wander and you will start to think about many things happened in the past. When you notice that, simply move your attention back towards your breath. Whenever your mind wanders, just bring it back. Thats normal and happens during meditation.

Observe your thoughts and let go of negative thought patterns. Whenever you feel anger, hatred or anxiety, be aware of it and let go. Don’t expect to be the meditation master from the first day and dont get frustrated if it doesnt work out. You need to be patient and start with some simple meditation techniques. Try to meditate at the same place and at same time every day to build a new habit.

The most people think that meditation is miraculous and can solve problems like magic. Yes it is true, but you need to practice it without attaching any physical outcome with it. It is a life changing phenomenon, so practice it without exception and you will notice changes around you. You will become more peaceful, passionate and forgiving. You will love everything around you and feel connected with everything. Sleep well, be happy and stay healthy :)

Images Source: www.pixabay.com

DQme43f1gVRkXJUiGKU4EQTBe9TgSPmft6AxuPFpp8aQRug.png

up.PNG

Sort:  

I am doing something similar, regarding to focus on breathing and being self-conscious about one's feelings, senses and actions...without any guidance or meditation tricks though...
I'll have to try meditating as well :-)

Meditation dont really have a special technique, but you need to find the right one for you. In every culture it is done different. I tried many things and didnt work for me, but they work for others. When I started focusing on the sound I hear in my head, it worked out :)
Good luck with it and thank you for reading my Blog :)

Nice post! @hanen
Is there any mediation app that you would recommend?

I tried many Apps, but didnt really like. Actually guided meditation, didnt really help me. But I can suggest you to follow this one for the beginning and also watch his other videos about meditation. I found them really helpful and not that complicated.

You can also try different meditation or zen music. Some of them are very relaxing and helpful. This is my favorite :

Thanks!! The videos are very helpful. I will try it out tonight.

You welcome :)

Beautiful explanation on meditation. Years back I tried meditating. Couple of times it worked. 20 minutes felt like 2.

And I am hunting those moments. Lately I have been overwhelmed and couldnt focus anymore. This week it is getting better again and I felt some peace again :)

Glad to hear good news.

Thank you :)

Such an insightful post, I started meditating some time last year but I stopped. I have to be more disciplined in this activity because it truly helps one feel happier and lighter

Yes you need to start again. I also stopped for a while and started again lately. It is our source of joy, so we shouldn't leave it again :)

i definitely will.

I would say, the importance of this article is very much about meditation. Because it is based on your real experience. And for that reason this post RE -BLOG by me.

I am glad that you read my post and liked it. Thank you :)

I think meditation is such an important exercise to center yourself. I also like how you included the word "practice" when talking about meditation. It is a skill that needs to be worked on and trained. It something that takes time and patients to learn but it so rewarding when you do master it!

Love this post and I encourage anyone that doesn't meditate to try it for a month and see how you feel! :)

I am glad you liked my post. Meditation is indeed is very important in our life.

Good publication, offers us several strategies, particularly I can not put my mind in white, I achieve it in the quiet of my room, when everything is silent.
Truly, meditation is a miracle, capable of healing psychological and physical ills.
Thanks for posting.

It is very difficult to free the mind, but we need to try again and again to achieve that peaceful mental state :)

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post free to my 35,000+ followers if you reply with the word, "free". Blog posts over 7 days old can not be upvoted or resteemed. a-0-0

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Hanen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The fact of meditation is a wonderful thing that can not be described It increases human intelligence and comfort

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47