Fasting In Different Cultures And Its Benefits - Part 3 - Water Fasting

in #steemit6 years ago

Water fasting is a type of fasting in which you consume only water for a set period of time. It's like rebooting your digestive system by not eating anything for a few days and you take in zero calories. It is not possible to survive on water alone. Your body can not function without calories and nutrients; they are the batteries and building blocks of life. But a short term water fasting can help your body a lot and you will still feel very awake, alert, focused, not hungry, energetic.

bottle-2032980_960_720.jpg

Albert Einstein gave famous equation, E=MC2. We can convert Mass into Energy and Energy into mass, I mean we can convert Fat into Energy and Energy into Muscles.

Our ancestors incorporated fasting into cultural traditions and many religions participate in ritual fasting to this day. There is nothing normal about eating three times a day, as our culture basically made this up and is now drilled into our heads. Eating cornflakes in the morning to be energetic or a Snickers bar in the afternoon to not feel hungry is just a lie sold by the food industry. Our ancestors didnt ate cornflakes or drank Nesquik and they survived for hundreds of years in good health. Not eating for several days was very normal at that time, as they didnt had a fridge to grab a snack every time they wanted.

water-321524_960_720.jpg

Living longer, feeling sharper, getting less sick, and reducing impulsive eating all sound pretty good. But some people might tell you that fasting for several days is somehow bad for you. The opposite is true! Fasting helps lower blood sugar levels, decreases inflammation, strengthens your immune system and has even been used as a technique by diabetics to improve insulin sensitivity. If many of our illnesses today come from too much food and poor diets, then simply eliminating food for a period of time would seem to have benefits. No junk food, sugar and fat will benefit our body.

You should prepare yourself and choose a good time to go without food, when your body does not require too much energy. There is no set time that water fasting should last for, but medical advice generally suggests anywhere from 24 hours to 3 days. So you can start with three days for the first time and increase in the second time, if you feel good about it. It is important to only consume fresh, clean, high-quality water. And when ending a water fast, a person should not eat too much at once but build up gradually to avoid a stomach ache or feeling sick.

cat-3260452_960_720.jpg

Many great healers and thinkers, like Plato, Hippocrates, Aristotle, and Socrates have praised the benefits of fasting. Today, millions of people continue to fast for both religious and physical purification. People may undertake water fasting to lose weight, for spiritual or religious reasons. So why not try it out :)

Image Source: www.pixabay.com

DQme43f1gVRkXJUiGKU4EQTBe9TgSPmft6AxuPFpp8aQRug.png

up.PNG

Sort:  
fasting is good for the body as it relaxes our body system.
there is even a saying that after the feast, you should fast.

Nice and educating.

Thats true! Thank you :)

Very interesting post @hanen. You are right in saying that in this consumer based society, too many lies are sold to us by the big companies to sell their products. I don't see any drawbacks of fasting either. Moreover, its good to stay away from processed food and white sugar. This and physical activity is key to a good health.

Yes unfortunately thats the bitter truth :(

Thank you :)

Thank you :)

Great post (as usual!) I am always envious of those who have the will power and mental toughness to do this. I think I have managed to fast twice FOR A SINGLE DAY in my entire life. I just can't do it, even though I am 100% convinced of the benefits, and even though I know we are strongly suggested to do so, even by Jesus Christ Himself.

Thanks for the challenge. I will try to do it tomorrow...and let you know if I make it. Three days is out of the question for me, at present..I am sure, but perhaps I can manage a day.

I love fasting and somehow I got used to it. And if I am busy I forget even that I am fasting. I didnt try water fasting yet, but want to try next month. Will also start with 24 hours and see what happens :)

Well...I am planning to make it 24 hours. I am at 16 right now...lol...but half of that was while sleeping, so that was easy!

2.5 hours to go! I'm going to make it...thanks to you!

I am glad to hear that! Now you encouraged me too :) I also sleep from time to time while fasting. It makes it more easier.

It sure does. I don't think I could have made it otherwise. Thanks again for your inspiration!

Thank you for the inspiration too :)

I'm going to try again tomorrow...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Hanen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26