Don’t Let Language Be A Barrier To Communicating With Other Steemians.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

We’re global after all.

translate_steemit_at_google.png

Yesterday, I received a reply to my post Besar Bodoh - "Living The Dream" @ Musicland 2013 from @azizabdi that had me a little confused for a moment.

"Keren.."

What is "Keren", I thought.

A name? Is it a typo? Maybe it’s in another language?

Unfortunately, I’m not fluent in another language other than English, Aussie style English to be exact, so I visited @azizabdi’s blog to see if he posts in another language and sure enough, he posts in Indonesian and English.

So I headed over to the Google Translator website https://translate.google.com to find out what “Keren” translates to in English.

Sure enough, my suspicion was confirmed. Google Translator detected “Keren” as being Indonesian and displayed the translation in the right hand text area.

"Keren" means "Cool".

I could have just voted up his reply and left it at that, but I thought “No, I’m going to reply back, and I’m going to do it in Indonesian too”.

With my reply typed in using English and translated to Indonesian, I copied the result back into the translator to double check it’s translation back into English.

Satisfied with the result, the Indonesian version was a copy/paste into the reply box back into Steemit.

Another reply came from @azizabdi, once again in Indonesian, so I repeated the process to see what had been said, and used the translator once again for my second reply.

The Conversation As Posted.

azizabdi_indonesian.png

English Translation.

azizabdi_english.png

Google Translator https://translate.google.com

Google Translator isn’t perfect all the time, but it is a great help if you want to communicate in a language other than languages that you are familiar with.

I once saw a quote, I forgot who wrote it and the exact wording, but it made me laugh at the time.
Something along the lines of "Google Translator may be the cause of a third world war one day."
The best thing to do when using the translator is to do what I did and double check your result before using it anywhere else.
You don’t want to start a war, do you?

Have fun and remember, you’re not restricted to you own language here at Steemit.

Cheers
Thor
@hammaraxx

Rock'N'Roll From Melbourne, Australia


Sort:  

i too have done this before, google translator is a gift.

Top stuff @hemanthoj,
It sure is.
Amazingly good for a 'free' service.

Translations are nice to have for global communication I wait for the day when we have more projects like Ili to reduce communication barriers.

Who knows? In the future with the help of artificial intelligence, translation may be instantaneous.
For speech, a device like the 'Babel Fish' in "Hitch Hiker's Guide To The Galaxy" might even become a reality.
Thanks for commenting @freedomno1.

Google Translate is getting scary good for sure. I kind of hate it, though, because I'm bilingual and really love learning languages. I know the day is coming when people won't have to learn languages anymore and it actually makes me kind of sad. But of course I realize how beautiful it will be when everyone can communicate naturally with one another.

Great post. I've done the same thing. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you @liquifire,
That's great. It's fun isn't it?
The Google Translator tool is fantastic, helping us all to cross the language barrier and communicate with other people we normally wouldn't be able to.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

This is a good idea. Surely the Google Translator isn't perfect but in most cases your counterpart should probably get the idea of what you want to say.

Sure isn't perfect but it's a great help to communicate and you're right, it's good enough to get the general idea across.
Cheers @liveyourdream

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74