First Days on Steemit. My Experience So Far

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

It's been a couple of days since I've joined Steemit and I even managed to write two half-assed blog posts and a handful of comments. So, obviously, I'm now experienced enough to write about it. Right? Well, not really. I just want to post something and don't know what else to write about.

Two or three days are definitely not enough to discover all there is to know about this platform. But here are my observations so far.

comic-steemit-002.png

Many steemians (is that even a word?) write about Bitcoin and earning money on Steemit. At first, this made me feel like I don't belong here because I've no idea about any of that stuff. I've heard about cryptocurrency but mostly in the context that it's already too late to jump on the bandwagon. Five years ago was already too late. And now is most certainly too late. Yet, everyone is doing it. Even my cousin has invested in a Bitcoin farm and is paying ridiculous electricity bills just because he found out that his brother-in-law has a Bitcoin farm and mined enough to buy himself an apartment. And since we live in Ukraine, this is a very big deal. Seriously. Just like Bulgakov wrote. Wasn't it Woland in The Master and Margarita who said that the dwelling problem has spoilt people?

So anything about making money online looks like a good choice of topic on Steemit. After all, that's the whole point of this platform. That's what we're all here for.

But, of course, there's a lot of other topics that you can discover and try and earn your steam money with. I've seen popular photography posts and recipes. In fact, I've followed a bunch of steemians who post food photography and content of that sort. It may not be the most popular thing you can steem about (yet another neologism) but it's worth giving a shot.

Then there are memes and the fun stuff. Who doesn't like that? I haven't browsed these tags a lot. I don't think that Steemit will be my main source of entertainment. But feel free to check it out.

As for me, I prefer the useful articles with tips that I can apply in real life. So I'll be diving into those tags to see what else there is to explore.

Of course, you can write about anything you like and hope to succeed in that niche. There are successful steemians who write about news and politics, travel, science and technology. You can find here almost everything. With a lot of dedication and some luck, you can probably do great writing about whatever comes to your mind. As long as there are like-minded people on this platform, you will be able to find them and take a chance at catching their attention with your blog posts.

This brings me to another thing I've discovered in my first few days on Steemit. As it turns out, there is a community of Ukrainian steemians (and they haven't discovered me yet! ha-ha!). It looks like they're using the tags "ua" and "ukraine". My very first post was tagged "ukrainian" but they didn't find me. I've just discovered them by accident when someone commented in Ukrainian on a post about Russian dumplings that was written in English. The steemian must have assumed that the writer knows Russian, and many Ukrainians demand you to understand Ukrainian if you know Russian, which to me is a little childish - been there, done that, moved on. The Ukrainian Steemit community isn't tiny but doesn't seem to be active enough. And they're a bit too politicized for my taste. Seriously, they wanted to make their go-to tags something along the lines of PTN-PNH (a popular insult to Putin). And if you're not using it, you are obviously not truly a devoted Ukrainian steemian! OMG! I don't mean to bash my own people but I see enough of that shit on Facebook, so here I'll try to stay low and not use the Ukrainian tags, even if I write something about Ukraine. I don't want to risk being found out by this crowd in case they decide that I'm not patriotic enough or any of that stuff. No, thank you!

So, anyway, I've been thinking about what kind of content I can create for Steemit. At first, I thought about doing a webcomic. Then I browsed the tags and didn't see that many popular posts there. I don't know, maybe I wasn't looking in the right place, but I've decided to try something else. Since I'm both a writer and an illustrator (or at least trying to be) I will write blog posts, just like the ones I write for my Wordpress blog (or maybe even better!) and illustrate them with comics. Maybe I'll use the comics instead of subheadings. I really suck at doing those. LOL xD

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Best thing to do on here is write about what your are knowledgeable about or enjoy - dint worry what is popular!

Steemit is new enough that it is just waiting for people to come and blog about all sorts

Thank you! I'll do just that.

If I could write in English like you, I would be rich already;) You are an amazing personality so write what you think so far. Ps. I have similar thoughts.

Thank you. :)

Well have I got a treat for you, I'm running this webcomics tag called #steemit-webcomics, do check it out. I encourage people who like to do comics to use it, I even run a contest on comics if you're interested in joining :).
Anyway... Welcome to steemit :D I know there's a lot of stuff to learn, but it can be addictive to learn all there is in here and also make new friends :). I hope you're enjoying your time here and get to spend even more time around.

That's so cool! Thank you! :)

Добро пожаловать!
Обращайтесь, если будут вопросы

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35