STEEMIT'S ONE FATAL FLAW

in #steemit6 years ago

The basis for steemit is awesome. If it weren't awesome then none of us would be here. However there's one fatal flaw that is holding back its potential. I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but it's you. 

Ok, maybe not you specifically but you statistically. I'm brand new to this platform and I'm light-headed and dizzy with the overwhelmingly powerful stench of greed and desperation coming off of just about everyone. Ok, yes, this platform rewards people monetarily for their participation and content creation and I get that that is a big attraction for some, but if steemit is going to be more than a fringe exclusive circle-jerking club, people on here are going to need to start acting like real people.

Desperation

No, I don't really believe you care or even read anything I posted when your comment ends with "Let's be friends. Follow me" or invite me into your club or bootcamp or school. You've become equivalent to the advertisments I try to block with AdBlock. You provide no value and have become less of a person and more of a walking billboard. I don't follow billboards and I don't think any of us do in the real world. Somehow it's become acceptable here.

False Positivity

There seems to be a distinct lack of truth in much of the content and comments I've come across. It seems like everyone just responds with some variation of "That's Great!" or "I agree!". That's flippin impossible with as many people are on this platform that we have a cohesive hive mind. I will take true negativity over false positivity any day. Absolutely disagree with what I have to say? Then say it! Like a Human! I will follow people with integrity who speak truthfully, even when I don't agree with them.

Meta Content

I don't have a specific stat but, by golly, so much of the content on steemit is just about steemit, directly or indirectly. (Yes, I am well aware that I'm doing it too right now) This is just unproductive. It makes sense for some content to be about news, changes, updates, new info, etc but people not on steemit sure don't give a crap about steemit content. So if that's all the find from steemit, they don't really ever have an interest to get on here, leading to stagnation.

I don't want your money

Not everyone is here to make money. That's not why I'm here. My motivation for writing this blog is not some dollar sign at the end of a 7 day period. I see this as a democratic platform outside the influence of some overlord agendas, where ideas can be spread freely, openly and honestly. So you can see why I'm a little annoyed that such a place is just filled with "join my bootcamp and double your pay days." or "Steem your way to financial freedom". For the love, take 30 seconds to actually write a real message to new people on their introduction post. Don't critique them on their lack of marketing and money making potential. That's a person, and hopefully you are one too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40