How To Make a Steemit Cover Image [Free Template Included]

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit Profile Header.png

Hey Steemians,

What can I say — I freakin' love this community already. I'm only 4 days "old" and have already been welcomed with open arms...it's safe to say I'm here to stay!

I was reading through the FAQ to customize my profile. Customizing your header is a smart idea:

  • It's one way to welcome other Steemians when they visit your profile page
  • You can communicate who you are and what you're about!
  • You can add a little visual spice to your profile page

The recommended header size is 2048 x 512 in order to accommodate larger screens, but I found that if you want to add text, you have to keep it in a pretty tight 170px vertical window.

So, I dove into photoshop. Here is what I ended up creating for my profile page (feel free to check it out on my page if you want to see it live):

Untitled-1.jpg

All I did was add a background, add a darkening layer, and then some text to welcome Steemians who visit my page. I don't want to waste anyone's time, so I put a bit of text to tell people what I'm about and what to expect if they decide to follow me.

Will it make a difference? Who knows! At the very least, I like the look of my profile better now ;)

Where to Download the Template

As a way to say "thanks" for welcoming me to Steemit, here is a link to the template. I think this file hosting should work, but let me know in the comments if it doesn't.

How to Use the Template

If you know how to use Photoshop, it should be pretty simple, but here are some instructions:

  • I have left rulers in place to split up the template evenly, this should help you with placement
  • If you add text, try to keep it in the same area as the text I have - this will ensure it shows up no matter how a visitor's browser is resized and it doesn't overlap your profile image and bio
  • You can replace the background with whatever image you want
  • The black layer is to darken the background so all text is readable

I'll Make a Cover Image for The First 10 People to Comment and Upvote This Post

Some of you may not have Photoshop or the experience to create a profile image like this, so I'll hop into photoshop and make an image for the first ten to engage with this post. Just a way to say thanks for reading!

Thanks For Reading!

I'm new to Steemit and appreciate any and all feedback on my writings! If you liked it, let me know what you liked! If you didn't, let me know how I can improve for next time!

If you found this post helpful on Steemit, would you please upvote it and follow me because you will then be able to see more posts like this in your home feed?

https://steemit.com/@halcyondaze

Thanks and happy Steeming,
Kevin

Sort:  

It's been four days you are on steemit and your reputation score is 54, that's fantastic! I guess you'll be in 70's in a couple of months.

Hey, here is hoping! I am absolutely loving it here so far. I don't really know what the significance is of a 54 score, but I assume higher = better, so I'll take it! Thanks for your comment.

A higher number is associated with a higher caliber Steemit user. Similar to karma on Reddit (I think that's what it's called). Upvotes drive your rep score higher, downvotes brings it down.

Aha. It seems we're tied right now. I'll race you to the top ;)

Thanks for the PSD @halcyondaze! I just updated mine and feel it's looking fresh. This should be mandatory for everyone on Steemit. Time for us all to look professional :)

I was going to make you yours, but you beat me to it ;)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Rock on! Very useful info Kevin!

More than welcome! If you'd like one, hit me up in the Slack group :)

Awesome gift to the community. I do not know how to use photoshop but I guess its time to learn.

If you have troubles, let me know. I can easily make one for you!

I will let you know how it goes. Thank you

This link : http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=28074329746218040357 is now broken, can you update it please?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69