Official minnow support bot - Suggestion to improve steemit.com user retention rate | 官方小魚點贊機械人

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I was told to read @snowflake's post - What app developers can learn from steemit's mistakes. it pointed out that those who would join steemit.com at the first place, would be disappointed after a few days without any earning and then left.

有人推介我@snowflake的這篇文章 What app developers can learn from steemit's mistakes. 文章中提到很多願意嘗試steemit.com的人都會在幾天之後因為收入欠佳而離開。

123501BD-0637-4AB4-AD5D-059CC1FB0BCA.jpeg

I considered myself very lucky with my steemit.com adventure. I was pumped by a few whales, including @snowflake himself even thought he didn't realize that. With the support of the whales, I keep posting at least once everyday for the last 4 and a half months. Now, even thought the whales were gone and my earnings become much less, just little bit more than nothing, I still have the call within myself to push me post at least once a day.

我在steemit,com至今可算是非常幸運。由於得到了多名大鯨的支持(包@snowflake 在內,當然他本人並不知道),我的以到達今天的位置。在我加入之後的四個半月的時候我能做到每日起碼發一篇文,當然是希望盡量使用不知何時會失去的大鯨的支持。就算到了這個寒冬時期,我還是有種心態希望維持每日都有發文章,就算回報只有那少少的一塊幾毫亦無所謂。

01EA5C0C-3EA9-42E7-B451-74ECE4C30DFB.jpeg

I guess that was because the habit I built up in last 4 months. Posting on steemit.com has become part of my daily life, getting reward or not now is not as important to me as it was 3 months ago. I tried my best to post, no matter it is a Zappl and photo challenges or a post about Raspberry Pi 3, I want to have one post per day. Even thought steemit.com got DDOS, and I was in Beijing with not-too-good Internet connection, I will tried my best to post. I think this is the power of habit.

可能是因為過去四個月以來每日一文的慢慢養成了習慣,每天在這裏發文已經是生命中的一部分,當然還是希望能有收入,不過已經不是最重要的因素。

80B95D0D-D1B3-4B6D-8B80-787F88BA501D.png

So putting my own experiences together, I believe building up posting habit could be a key for improving retention rate of steemit.com users.
You may ask: how to do that?
My answer is : Official upvoting bot for minnows (new users in steemit.com).

Although I don't know how to do that, it is not difficult to build a bot to vote a group of specific users everyday for certain period. My suggestion to steemit.com is:

  • build a group of upvote bots
  • delegate whales' (e.g. @ned) SP to the bots
  • bots upvote certain group of new users once per day for a month or two months so that those group of users will get a decent amount of payout everyday for one to two months
  • That group of users should be restricted : new registered users, let's say within 3 months, with Rep and SP under certain amount
  • That group of users have to registered and agreed to certain restrictions on their posts to aviod spamming and posting rubbish for the daily upvote
  • The registered users will be put in a list for the bots to upvotes daily
  • Someone or bot will monitor those users and their posts, if any of them violate the restrictions, they will be removed from the list.

根據我自身的經驗,我認為可以從陪養習慣這方向來改善Steemit.com用戶流失的問題。簡單的說就是建立點贊機械人,把大鯨的SP代理到這些機械人中,由它們在某個時段之內(一,兩個月)固定點贊一些新用戶。好使他們每日都會有固定的收入,誘使他們每日都出文,從而發展成習慣。當然亦需要有人把關來防止濫用。

E0B6A5E1-55C3-43E1-8C6B-538184B5B08E.jpeg

According to the data in @paulag's post just with the SP of @ned, these official bots should be able to support at least concurrently 2,000 new users. If there are more whales putting their SP in, they should be able to support more minnows out there.

已經有人証實了單是@ned的SP就足夠每日支持2,000名新用戶,如果能集合更多大鯨的力量,就可以有更多的新用戶受益。

F6CBCB97-2838-4DF1-A62E-B818D7F5144B.jpeg

Let's assume 3,000 new users can be supported. After one month, 50% of them develop a habit of posting on steemit.com and will keep on posting even with the bot votes gone, then it is 1,500 new active users per month and 18,000 per year. Not very significant but definitely helps. If more whales join, we can expect the no. of active users increases. All these new users may use other STEEM-based applications like DTube, DLive, Zappl, Appics, etc, there are potential contents of values being created, which will support development of STEEM.

如果可以每個月支持3,000名新用戶,而當中有一半人能長遠保持活躍,一年下來就是18,000人。雖然不是很大的數目,還是會有幫助吧。而且這些新人或者會創作出一些有價值的作品來,那亦是對整個Steemit的發展有幫助的東西。

21055B38-3C3C-485B-AEC6-1A57A4544AF4.jpeg

There are many upvoting services and bots, some are pay-for-upvote, some are for free, but their existance means having big SP voting minnows works in certain extend. Whether to make it an official way of supporting new users is another story. Anyway, for me there is another way which will definitely helps steemit.com and all of us : Fix the recent problem of unstability of steemit.com, make it more reliable!

就從現時有着為數不少的點贊機械人這點看來,大家對它們是有需求的。到底要不要建立官方的機械人就是另一回事,不容許我在說三道四。無論如何,有一點我可以非常肯定可以幫助Steemit的,就是要改善steemit.com網站的穩定性,這可以刻不容緩!

IMG_1080.JPG


請關注!點讚!轉發!

0B4638DE-6672-4AB6-99F4-0CF216CE1B85.gif

Please Follow! Upvote! Resteem! ​

IMG_1080.JPG

Sort:  

Yes the site has been very unstable. Hopefully it gets better soon before it’s losing more users.

This is urgent, should be the 1st priority !

Agreed

I like your post@guyverckw good job.

i guess there are already some bots like that who help the minnows to help and grow :)

That's not constantly give them some decent payout. I used those bot before, didn't give you even $1.

yeah that's the disadvantage of it not constant and consistent

good post

I hope it gets better soon. Thanx for informing.

59846.jpg

really nice blog i like it

well when i get problem with steemit i use busy.org and thats really great alternative for that 😍

I have been in the site from june, and i can say that my journey is getting better. And if the bots are really could applied, that will be awesome for the new user.

That's the idea behind my suggestion. Hope this will be realized some day.

Just enjoy the ride. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63977.42
ETH 2760.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65