Find your mentor

in #steemit7 years ago

If you want to get somewhere you should find yourself a mentor that has already done the things that you want to do. The fastest way to learn something is by modeling the success of others.

I’m not a professional, I’m just a guy who was exposed to this industry for quite a long time and knows what’s working and what not.

Here are the things you want to look after when you search for a mentor:

  • That mentor has to resonate with you because if it doesn’t you may not even listen to what he’s saying. What I mean by this is that you need to have some type of connection from the beginning.
  • That mentor should not only be good at what he’s teaching but he should also have a life style that you like, a life style that you want.
  • Your mentor needs to know what he’s talking about. This is an obvious one, but back in the days when I started with self developing I had no idea who to listen to. They all looked like they know what they are talking about but a lot of them may be “scams”. The best way to make sure that those mentors are real is to read the testimonials about them and to search those people on facebook.
  • You should not have only one mentor that teaches you about everything, you should have mentors for all three major categories: relationships, health and wealth.
  • The best way to know who’s the best match for you is to check as much of them as possible. You can do that on youtube, I guess that all of them have a youtube channel or at least some clips uploaded by someone else.
  • He needs to be honest and unapologetic. Why do I say this? Because if it’s ever getting to a point where he has to give you a feedback you need the truth, even if by doing that he rips you into shreds.

I guess those are all the things you need to look after when you want to choose a mentor.

34106027.jpg
Picture Credit

“Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.”
― Benjamin Franklin

Stay tuned for more awesome content. :D

Sort:  

Great advice on finding a mentor, I especially like your point about finding one with a lifestyle you want, makes sense! Thanks. P.s. also a really good Benjamin Franklin quote.

Thanks. I'm glad that you liked it :D

Julian Assange and Edward Snowden are the 2 guys that i will love them to be my mentors, but in reality thats not gonna happen, but i will find someone like those guys, who stood for the truth no matter what the cost was @guyfawkes4-20

They don't necessarily have to be in real life. They can be online as well. Make sure you check Jeff Berwick's work, I think you will like his stuff.

fastest way to learn something is by modeling the success of others

My previous career and in this current one they push mentorship highly. It always seems easier to find one in the work environment and in your personal lives. Great share look forward to your other postings!!

Awesome. Thanks. I really appreciate it :D

just followed you thanks for the post

Great post @guyfawkes , this is the kind of stuff we need more of on Steem =)

Thanks. I'll provide more :D

I've never had a good mentor aside from family, perhaps i've been missing out all along. I wonder how hard it is to find one. Cheers

You should search for one. There are a lot of great guys on youtube. You don't even need to buy anything. It's all for free.

Great tips ! I myself am a mentor to some of my friends because I have spent so much time reading valuable information and used it to get results in specific areas of my life. But I have never had a mentor really and would like to find one sometime.

Thanks. That's great. You should find yourself a mentor. The output you get in that area of your life will be much higher if you have a mentor. :D

This is a great guide for people to refer to when finding a mentor. I definitely agree on the part you have to find someone who knows what they're doing or talking about. Competence is something I'd look for in a mentor.

That said, you have been upvoted and resteemed! Cheers!

Awesome. Thank you. I'm really glad that my post helps people. :D

good post, can help resteem my post, thanks !

I agree. Finding a mentor is very important :D

Who's your mentor? :D

I was watching Craig and Jerrybanfield, I was following Jerry on youtube he just came here and made over 100k$ I think in 1-2 months. I am trying to make some videos for steemit, but I am a little bit shy and my accent is not so good :D

I asked Craig if I can take an interview with him but he refused me. I think that Jerry made $18k in the first month or something like that. He has a free course about steemit, you should watch it, it may help you. It's pretty good. :D

yes, I think Craig is that kind of selfish man. But I love Jerry from all points of view.

and Craig is still promoting some scams, it's not my mentor :))

What scams? The Genesis Mining thing? I think that's not a scam.

not that, check his last youtube videos, it s a kind of mlm with a good compensation plan

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by GuyFawkes4-20 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68652.07
ETH 3861.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70