You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Feature: @OriginalWorks Regular Posts

in #steemit7 years ago

I like the suggestion of top originality hunters, and rewarding them. It is nicer if the bot is invoked by readers than authors. Keep up the good work, I'll follow, and hopefully engage more later.

Sort:  

Yes, I hope that becomea more common.

I might also feature the top original work of the day, giving my followers some exposure!

But how would you determine what is the top original work?

I am thinking of having a voting system or pick a few people to decide as judges. But I am up for suggestions!

I don't really have suggestions for it, but I suppose just a randomly picked candidate for prize could also work, but then I would make sure it wasn't a false positive.

However, I have been thinking of other bot(s) that are needed here on steem, which you could consider to amend your robot or make more bots:

  • Markdownbot: Would upvote content that only uses Markdown, and does not use HTML where markdown could have been used.
  • Stylebot: Upvotes content which avoids CAPITALS, uses headers (in markdown), paragraphs, bullet lists, etc. Has captions/sources. Does not exaggerate the use of images, gifs , and videos, etc.
  • Languagebot: Would award correct (in wide sense) English grammar and spelling, could also evaluate readability (there are various ways to do that). Could do the same with posts tagged in other languages.

Most of the criteria for those bots, could also be indications of original works,
at least use of markdown, I suspect. I know it is a bit random to bring up here, but I'm probably not going to be able to make the bots myself, so might as well share the idea with someone.

I'll gladly delegate som SP to @OriginalWorks, and especially to any of the ideas I just brought up :-)

Those are awesome ideas. I especially like how they could also be ways to indicate originality. I don't want to start another bot until this one is complete, and since it still makes errors, I want to concentrate fully on improving it for the time being. I especially like Stylebot as a separate bot since it can notice users of "spammy" styles, and improve content here on Steemit.

Thanks a lot for your input! I will continue to work hard and improve @OriginalWorks. These kind of thoughtful suggestions is the reason I made this post at all.

Another factor you evaluate, is whether a post has been changed. I suspect it is likelier to be original if that is the case

That is very true. I wonder if the api supports that. Def worth looking into.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56