STEEMIT - knock, knock ANYBODY HOME???

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Very frustrated now. Posting since 2 weeks, 117 posts.
Most of them are great quality, interesting or helpful.
Mostly I don't solicit for upvotes, because I don't like it.
I don't upvote myself because I think it's weird.

I commented, participated, tried to be an asset.

No matter what I do, nobody sees my posts.
Upvoting and commenting is only from bots.
What am I doing wrong?
Is there a hierarchy on steemit.

And now this:
gunternezhoda bandwidth limit exeeded. Please wait to transact or power up STEEM.

DID I WASTE ALL THIS TIME???

Somebody fill me in please!


Sort:  

Thanks again everybody. On a positive note, just went over the 100 followers mark. Will comment on others more and change some tags. Thanks for all the support.

Hi Gun,

I thought I would pop in and give you a hand. I approach Steemit as I do life.

I have two ears and one mouth - so I listen (read and comment) at least twice as much as I post.

I have been here about 8 weeks now and have over 1,000 followers. In the beginning (first few weeks) it was about making friends. Good commenting will probably earn you more than posting too.

Then it became about participating in a community - I can't stress the importance of 'community' enough.

If you come here looking to get rich without participating in community activities, you will fail dismally.

And don't get caught up in all this 'it's not fair rubbish below - most here have had to adopt a similar strategy to what I have outlined to succeed at various stages in the STEEMIT lifecycle.'

Suggest you step back - reassess your strategy, then go forth and conquer!

And feel free to drop round to #teamaustralia some time and say g'day.

Finally - 'UPVOTE' yourself man - what's wrong with you?

SirKnight

SECRETARY TEAM AUSTRALIA

We at Community News agree SirKnight. Steemit is about 'Community'.

United Steemians will stand! Divided they will fail!!

Community News whilst still in early stages of formation, is all about building communities and promoting community activities.

It's not about it not being fair, it is currently fair, it's about maths not envy, Steemit has users that are very powerful and because of that get more powerful everyday, it happens exponentially. If Steemit grows and the trend continues, a very, very tiny handful of people will have all the voting weight while millions have none.

Many of your so called 'Whales' PP are out and about working very hard to spread as much love as they can to as many as they can. They are out there blowing kisses (creating opportunities) all the time. But you have to get out there and start catching kisses mate - not sitting back thinking 'poor unfortunate me'. SK.

Never said poor unfortunate me, you're still not getting it. There's no emotions at all connected to what I said. I'm sure the "whales" are lovely people, it's about mathematics, not about hating on someone, like I said it's completely "fair" as it is. If the trend continues, Steemit will be unusable because 20-30 people can't "blow kisses" to the entire world. So at some point there will need to be some kind of re-balancing done.

(Unusuable as a way to earn rewards and get your stuff read).

Oh PP - I sense the conflict within. If 20-30 people blow kisses to 20-30 people each. Then those 20-30 blow kisses to another 20-30 and so on. The wealth will be far better distributed than it is in the real world. Not to mention the STEEM changing hands in the open market - the higher the price of STEEM goes the more diluted it becomes - someone has to be selling after all. It's just maths mate.

@sirknight your comment has caused me to coin a phrase "trickle down steemonomics"

boodles17 - great concept - time to write a Doctorate. 'Trickle down steemonomics' - you are a genius! (Sorry it took so long to read this btw.)

Lol...glad you like it!

"Oh PP - I sense the conflict within" Don't be like that, I'm not trying to have the typical internet argument, I'm not trying to "win". I'm trying to get across to you something which I can see you've missed. The key phrase is "snowball effect". Because if I have a large percentage of something and because of that I keep getting more of a percentage than others, the result is that you'll end up in a situation where a handful of people have everything and everyone else has nothing, even if they are passing rewards down. Again, there's no emotion in my post and no ill will to anyone, that includes you.

Some of what you are saying has already come to pass. The efforts at rebalancing, so far, seem unpredictable. The dynamics of the system need to be self balancing before Steemit exits beta.

It seems to need a conditional rebalancing initiation framework. As varying conditions exist the system should not remain static, but adjust to the current conditions. How this would be done, I don't know. How does one test for scalability without the scale?

It's a very complex issue, devs have to balance keeping minnows engaged, keeping whales rewarded for their stake and not tanking the Steem price, I don't envy them, it's a very hard job.

It's one of the things that I've wondered all along. It is spoken of as though the whales are the only ones who've invested, but my time is more valuable to me than their money. I've spent that time posting some things that could even save lives. Some of the large whales post garbage, worth nothing, and sit and soak up the reward pool. The investment of minnows time can be of much more value than those who simply stick a money vacuum into the reward pool and leave nothing for the rest of us.

Yeah some do, some post great content. But there's a lot of garbage that's earning hundreds of dollars. I have no problem with someone posting garbage and getting a lot of money for it, good for them I say.

The only real problem is the zero-effort garbage is far too visible. People chasing curation reward always go where the money is. It would be nice if there was a way to incentivise curation by quality rather than dollars, but don't know how that could ever be possible.

Half these garbage posts have barely any views on them as well, so it's not like people are really interested in what some dude had for dinner.

I feel it is more pay to play

Or as they say in business @unionunited - having some skin in the game. I like your account name... can I have it?

I feel for you :( and everyone else who is having problems with exposure. I dont do awesome but I don't think I'm doing too bad either.

I've been here for a month. I have never asked for a follow, upvote or a resteem either.

The first few days was slow and I was fumbling around posting this and that, feeling out what people here are into, which tags are popular etc.

Then I joined @teamaustralia and my steemit world opened up. Instantly I was connected to people and I can use a tag that heaps of people in the team australia community check every day.

I then seized the bull by the horns and took an opportunity to design their logo and next thing you know I'm making heaps of friends and being part of the community.

This is a two way relationship. I know who my faithful few are and I go out of my way to check their blogs when I dont see anything from them on my feed.

The key is to participate in the community.

Check these two tags out #teamaustralia and #minnowsupport - see if youre interested in joining.

It doesnt matter what your objective is. To be successful on Steemit you need to engage and that doesnt just mean writing your content, it also means commenting on peoples posts.

Yall have to take into consideration that Steemit is still new and at its early stages. Things seem sucky right now but it wont be like this forever, its in the best interest of the developers to ensure a fairer system for the sake of future growth - and I doubt theyre into self sabotage at that magnitude.

Nice post Arly. SK.

Thanks so much, I'm using those tags you suggested now.

@gunternezhoda

I hope you joined the groups before you used the tags.

Contact
@choogirl to join #teamaustralia
@tjpezlo to join #teamphilippines
@minnowsupport to join #minnowsupport

Hi again,
I see, you have to join groups that vote and follow each other. I'm not interested in that at all. I'd rather have less followers but they are interested in my posts and vise versa.
I never liked that "You follow me, I follow you" mentality, on any network. Thank you though. I removed the tags.
Success feels so much better if you actually did it.

Yep. You join groups with like minded people so when they look up the tag they know they can find someone like them.

Eg. Team Australia is where aussies find each others and where friends of team australia can post and find us. Same goes for Teams Philippines, USA and GB.

I don't like that mentality either. Like I said. I have never once asked for a follow, upvote or a resteem and I never will. Ive been there with facebook and I know the value in getting real followers.

We are not required to follow every member - team australia voted on that not long ago and decided theres too many of us now and we follow who we like.

That said youre right the majority of people that I follow, upvote and resteem are people from those groups. Not because its required, but because I like their content and admire what theyre trying to achieve and because theyre my friends and I wouldnt have found them, or you - since I was asked to read this post by a friend from team australia, if I didnt join the group lol

Success for me, feels better with friends around me who I can talk to 3 months later and reminisce about HF19 because we grew and travelled together.

This is a big wide ocean to be swimming in alone. Just saying.

Forget about "fairness" , fair this fair that...
Quality content... blah

This is social networking, nothing is fair about it. Plus this is paid social networking...
So obviously most people, arnt going to go out of there way to give a shit about you or any other minnow...
Ive been here for a year, its nothing new.

You need to get out and make people care about you. Whether that is investing so they think voting on your stuff will get you to vote on there stuff.
Or doing something unique...

My only advice if you plan on making something and sticking around...
Dont care about the money - its the only way

It's just rather hard to get noticed on here. There's so many new people on steemit now that it's easy to get lost in the sea of minnows.
In my opinion, having a whale notice you is very difficult, and doesn't help all that much. What seems to help the most is finding other people on here who are interested in the same subjects that you are, and interact with them. If you actually have something to say on subject their posts, some of them will look at your channel to check you out and to see what you write about. If they like what they see, they might follow you. You don't need a large amount of followers to make progress on steemit, what you need is followers who are interested in what you write about. For instance, I have more than 400 followers, I average less than 20 likes on my posts. What I need is more followers that like the subjects that I write about. That is what everyone on steemit needs to be successful.

Excellent amberyooper! UPVOTED!

And in other words - it is about 'community'.

And guess what Hard Fork 20 is about - 'Community!' [And a couple of other things]

SK.

Yes, there is a hierarchy on Steemit. I have the same issues. I keep posting daily. I also read and comment on other posts. The ones that got on Steemit the first 3 months are the whales now.

Is that really true?my impression is that whales are people who poured a shit ton of money into Steem. Would love to hear more about the self-made whales.

Yes the ones that pooled money and poured it into Steemit are part of a whale clan. These whales that poured tons of money into Steemit are kings of pump and dumps and referral programs.

Hey Gunter, I looked at your blogs, and your rewards are very low for how much work you've put in. Good work that deserves a lot more. I wonder if you pissed someone off or got tagged by a bot?

No idea, how can I check?

I gave you a resteem to try and help a bit but I don't have many followers...

Very nice, thanks, You have one more follower now :)

Usually bots leave a comment like "I'm a bot, I found similar content elsewhere". There's a bot called @cheetah do you have any comments from that one on your blog?

No, haven't seen it

Quality content is often unrewarded here, there's a few people that have all the voting power and lots of "minnows" trying to get noticed, if they don't see your blog post it dies. It seems a lot of it's down to the early adopters being far more powerful than the average user. Hey, they deserve a lot for their effort, but all the voting weight in a few hands will make it very difficult for new users. Steemit is fundamentally flawed, I fear it may die. I've become disheartened like you and will probably not stick around long, thought about powering down today and I've been having more success than the average noob.

I've been getting the same error as you, as well as having to re-follow people I was already following.

Sometimes all I want is to start a conversation on a subject, but if your post doesn't immediately get a $5 upvote, no-one's interested, no matter how well-written. Everyone's chasing pennies and there's not a lot of real conversations happening.

Thanks guys for the responses, I feel better that I'm not the only one. Really like this site, would be great if it would work.

It just needs re-balancing, if the votes I just gave you were worth even 5 cents rather than 1 cent it would be a lot better and people would use Steemit normally rather than hoping to get noticed.

The whale vote can't shrink too much, but it should be weighted somehow, so there's diminishing returns after a certain amount of SP.

I saw this post, I noticed u and u matter. Be patient.. you're still new man. I was frustrated when I first started, I'm still not getting alot of views but I've met some cool dudes and that's worth the price of admission so far!

Hoping this resteem would help a bit. It's a hard time the past few days in Steemit. Exposure is hard. I do see lots of comments from people here, they have given very good advice. I don't think I can add more. Good luck!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted and resteemed by @philippinetrail. We thank you for any support that you can give (Upvote, resteem, donate, delegate, or even comment). Please support #steemit-charityph tagged posts.

Please upvote this comment so we can continue to build this account if you like this initiative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70958.91
ETH 3798.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46