My Ideas on Improving Stemmit Feed

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I have been to Stemmit for almost two weeks. The feed on Stemmit is very good. Unlike on other social networks, there are no adverts, no unrelated stuff I don't want to see. But I see far bigger potential for Stemmit than just having 'a slightly better feed'.

Favourite Tags

It takes some times to find in a super long list the tags I personally like. Some are in the middle, some are at the bottom and some are not even in the given shortened list.

There should be a tool to mark my (and yours) favourite tags. These tags will be shown at the top of the list, or have some badge next to them, to help us quickly recognize them.

This will improve navigation and frequency of checking less used tags.

We can go further than that. There can be a feed made of your favourite tags combined. If you mark one of the almost never used tags, there can be an alert badge a new post has emerged.

Selective Subscription

Most bloggers don't stick to one topic. Some post multiple-times a day. I found perfect authors here on Stemmit. But I don't want to subscribe (follow) all of their stuff. Only some posts are interesting from my perspective.

Make here a selective subscription a thing. You will be allowed to choose certain tags. If a post is tagged with them, it will show in your feed. If it is not, you will not hear of it. Let it be called 'whitelisting tags' for an author.

From the other angle, there may be a good author with terrible posts on a certain topics. Allow me to select tags to blacklist for this specific author. If he tags the post with a tag I am not interested in, it will not be shown in feed.

Both ways of selection of posts from an author are reasonable and can work together upgrading our feeds to a great extent.

Authors Overview

Some authors make a dozen of posts a day. A few might be of high quality. The others might not. I don't want to avoid subscription to a good author, because his last posts are crap or unrelated to my interests.

Let there be more information about the author --- in the red areas.

I think something really helpful would be a list of most used tags. Or favourite tags, whatever you call it.

In addition to it, I would like to learn of authors activity. Does he post often? Does he come online often? Hard to guess.

Recommendation to New Users

Honestly, after the time spent on Stemmit, I opted to follow just two people. What if there was an optional step to choose my interests, and Stemmit would commend me some high-reputation bloggers who write about these topics. It would help me a bit.

@greenmask9

Support my channel by liking this post. Follow me for more articles about health, nutrition, sports (with personal love for individual sports), psychology, strategy and politics. Share this post if you consider it a good list of suggestions.

Let me know what you think in the comments.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55