Steemit Has an Entitlement Problem

in #steemit7 years ago

Dtube.jpg

I’m new here, for the most part—like many of you are. As with every social platform, I experiment some.

Here’s what I’m finding with Steemit:

It’s one big entitlement platform.

I can’t visit someone else’s blog and comment without getting put down for not upvoting them.

Question: Is it against the law to comment and not give an upvote?

Says who?

Why?

Some people may like to be selective with their likes.

If you come to my blog, you are welcome to comment and not upvote me. I promise I won’t bitch out.

Believe me, I don’t need the crypto.

Screen Shot 2018-01-31 at 4.48.02 PM.png

Comment below if you’ve tried to comment on other people’s posts without upvoting and if you've received the entitled attitude.

I’ve never witnessed a social community more entitled than Steemit users.

WinnersWin_41c0f4d3-82d9-44a1-802c-d91263d85929_2000x.jpg

Is Steemit a place to pretend everyone loves everything, or do people actually comment their real opinions? Looks to be a bunch of ass kissers.

Pasted image at 2018_01_31 05_47 PM.png

Sort:  

Haha. The question is, did you upvote your comment and not the post? If you don’t upvote your comment as well as not up voting the post then I don’t see a problem. However, if you upvote your own comment without throwing at least a small upvote to the creator of the post then it can be a bit douchy in my opinion. But, I have been guilty of that, so I do make a conscious effort to support the conversation starter as well as my comments. Just my thoughts :-)

Just an image comment I think is what can cause annoyance. Because it gives an impression of a bot that doesn't care. I think with a few lines of text then an image and it wouldn't have been an issue. That extra care is what cause people to relax. Because it makes people feel not appreciated when it's just an image post. It looks more like self promotion.

It's not a black and white issue I see both sides on this platform. What you have to do with beginners is to guide them into showing them that it works when you pay attention and provide real value. If you set an example of giving 10X in value to someone then you will get the same back. Or at least you will get 1X back most of the time.

Good point, I am pretty new here, too and upvoted some of my OneNote posts and comments initially since I did not know better. It felt better to at least be satisfied with myself. I am not doing this any more since I am also getting to the point. I earn far more with my own business than I will ever be rewarded here. It just feels good once you get an upvote at all. Steem-on!

Yeah, and it's apparently also full of assholes who've no problem plastering their ugly blown up mug on other people's INTRODUCTION posts, of all things, because - yah know, they're clearly in it to make the content of this platform better.

Entitled indeed.

Lol, because not everyone on this platform has a whale in their pocket and actually has to work to get where they are at. I challenge you to start a fake John Doe account where you actually have to work to get seen on Steemit. To put in months of work getting a few cents on your posts before you're happy with just making a few dollars for a post it took you hours to create.

Does Steemit have an entitlement problem sure. Does Steem need highrollers such as yourself to succeed, you bet. Steemit doesn't need people who are self entitled any more than it needs people like yourself judging others.

Loading...

Always inspiring me with better perspective.

You just run your life with a very different ideology. Maybe that's why you are making waves in your own different way.

NOTE I am still anticipating your book on Real Estate. Yeah!

I agree. I honestly welcome the comments more than the upvotes because at least I'm getting some interactions with my posts. I read every comment and make sure to respond to all of them because I think feedback is way more useful than giving fake "likes".

Ill give you an upvote, because you said something that needed to be said. people should be grateful that they are getting comments on their posts because it shows the post is worth the time taken to read, so no one should feel entitled to an upvote. @grantcardone

The problem with Steemit is people fake liking everything as if they love everything because it's all monetized. How is this fixed?

Time will expose people. People can't happy all the time, they'll give up. People will either be honest and genuine, stop expecting to be rewarded (or they'll back their backs and fold).

Your points are hard-ass, but it needed to be said, so I really can't fault you for the original post. Also Steemit is an early platform, just wait for the bloodbath that'll be when it goes mainstream.

Most people can't manage money or become delusion after they see a 5-dollar bill, these generally are the same types of people who always say things like "Money doesn't make you happy" or "I don't need wealth." - but soon as money is actually involved they become wolves, posing as a nun moments before hand.

So time. Imagine when there's account with 1mil+ everywhere, and thousands of bots, and everybody has a Steemit platform. By then the platform will have evolved, or the entitlement problem will be more interesting to witness.

Fakeness fades like a poorly coated veneer, eventually people will start to be honest, and realize that's more profitable.

Hell, I up-voted you just because you stated your own opinion. You weren't being needlessly divisive, you were just speaking your truth.

People will respect that, it'll just take time man.

Those are my thoughts.

I dont know, can it be fixed? steemit is such an easy access platform and people, like you said, want to make small bucks and they do this by liking everything they see, so i dont know if it can be fixed.

Steemit does currently have a lot of problems, and the most critical one is that the way it promotes itself is attracting people just for the financial aspect and nothing else.

Like you always said, Go 10x bigger lol

That's kind of annoying, but I prefer that to the way people on sites like Twitter just to straight to hate. There's got to be some sort of middle ground. If you look in the right places, you can find people who have genuine thoughts to add to things.

You will always get an upvote from me haha :)

Can't say something nice? Don't say anything at all

I comment and don't upvote all the time, because my upvote isn't worth anything to begin with, and the power is always down. I prefer to help out by interacting with people, resteeming things that are very good, and I'll even give little upvotes via bots to stuff I really like that other people post, just because I can do that whereas I can't really do much for them with my $.01 upvote.

Another thing I do is share posts that I really like on Twitter. I have more followers there than I do here, so if it helps bring more people to Steemit, good. Especially because I wouldn't share something I didn't think was high quality, so if whatever I shared influenced someone to click the link and make their way over to Steemit, good. Maybe they'll end up joining and create good content. There are certainly many accounts that are just trying to make money, not realizing that creating garbage content and going around begging for upvotes isn't going to get them anywhere. Being consistent with quality content, interacting with others who post similar content, and stuff like that is how you're successful in the long run.

Good perspective Markus! What you share indicates quality networking, which is what goes hand in hand with quality content. So it shall be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44