Too much Steemit on Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago

Well alrighty, so this is a weird post to write. I am a big fan of STEEMIT, make no mistake. I love the idea and the community.

One thing that is getting me down a bit, are all the STEEMIT posts ABOUT STEEMIT!

Why are there SOOOO many STEEMIT posts? Take a pick from any of the below:

  1. People have seen that 60-70% of all posts that go Trending are posts about STEEMIT.
  2. People believe that to get a whale to up vote your post, you HAVE to write a post about STEEMIT
  3. People are unimaginative and write about STEEMIT (dang - seems like I could fall in this group? LOL!)

It is actually really funny to see. OK, no, it was funny to see for a WHILE. I however believe that the time has come for the community to start easing up on the deluge of STEEMIT posts and start posting some more interesting content.

I just uprooted a bread recipe, because it was something completely unrelated to STEEM. OK, and because I love bread :D.

And I must admit, I was also guilty of this - but I am trying to change. This will hopefully be my LAST post on STEEMIT about STEEMIT :D

PLEASE, PLEASE, please - can everybody please start posting articles other than STEEMIT articles? For our own sanity?

Thanks so much - I do love STEEMIT though, don't have me, please :D

Sort:  

It's funny that you mention this. I actually posted something that I thought was pretty interesting about some of the most popular users - comparing their SteemIQ and earnings stats. It was a post about a Steemit program that was used to find some possibly useful information about readability. But, it was fun to look at the different numbers. I even dressed it up with (bot) "quality content" - links, a photo, rich text - and used the Steem-related tags.

It likely won't even break a dollar. But worse than that, it likely won't even be read by 100 people. If I simply asked people what they thought of Steemit and posted some Photoshopped image with the logo, I might be trending right now.

I just don't get it. I'd love to know what the whales and bots are actually looking for. It won't change my writing style, but if there's a way that I can dress up the code better, I'd like to know.

Nice reply! Yeah - my fear is that people will look at what trends: mostly STEEMIT posts, so then everybody jumps on the bandwagon, and ALL we will then get IS Steemit posts. And there are some other awesome posts that just get lost in it all. We as the community need to up vote QUALITY content and be more critical.

Absolutely. But the problem is, as long as whales keep upvoting Steemit content like they do, there will always be people competing for those votes. This is intentional. They want people being enthusiastic and talking about Steemit. But here's the problem, in my own opinion: these posts are mostly being viewed and supported internally by the existing users. I'm not really sure how much it does to attract "quality content" creators to the platform and then retain them once they're here.

I don't mind seeing posts about Steemit or even that some of them make a lot of money. I just don't like the vast number of Steemit posts and the fact that so many of them get huge payouts. It skews the trending content and the motives of users while simultaneously discouraging those who really want to make this work by creating original/artistic quality posts. I just don't think the current curating trends are very helpful.

Well said. To get a better diversity of content, the whales need to ease up on up-voting all the Steemit posts.

I completely agree. The "Steemit" tag has been the top tag since I can remember this site...
But I think the problem is a bit more general. If the "Steemit" tag will be replaced by any other tag, people are going to start writing more about that tag instead, in hopes of getting more upvotes. So this system makes the rich tags richer, meaning that people will probably write more about whichever tag is trending.
Maybe removing the list of top trending tags from the right hand of the page will solve this problem? That way, if people don't see that the "Steemit" tag is trending, they won't have that added incentive to write about it?

Oooh, some good lateral thinking there! I did not consider that. Hmmm, the human psyche is throwing us a bunch of curve balls. There is some food for though in what you propose for the STEEMIT dev, I would say.

Hear hear. So many posts about Steemit or motivational type stuff...

Or soppy introductory posts with good-looking girls :). I am almost missing the make-up posts. LOL! :D

Too much Steemit on Steemit on Steemit...

HAHAHAHA!!! Well said and touche! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64