Minnows: The Steemit Curation Technique That Will Actually Make You Money (and You Don’t Have to Be First in Line)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

You can make money from curating quality content on Steemit, but it has nothing to do with voting or commenting.

I’ve been on Steemit for a little more than a week now. I’ve tried writing what I thought was quality content, I’ve tried curating and commenting. I’ve even tried to game the curation system as so many articles have recommended.

I had one post voted on by a whale or dolphin so it did okay, but it was practically a cut and paste job – actually a digest version of a longer article. It was a fascinating subject, but I spent less time on that than anything, but it was technologically related, a quick read, and had an intriguing title and an eye-catching picture borrowed from the original article. The carefully researched and thought-out stuff I wrote got a few encouraging comments from fellow minnows, but for the most part when I try to put myself out there, all I’ve found on Steemit is crickets.

It seems that fascinating stories about humans and technology interfacing can be very popular – if you happen to get the attention of a whale. See my one successful article as an example, and another by @rampart that was similarly little more than a catchy title, a good picture, and a link.
https://steemit.com/philosophy/@goose/stanford-s-virtual-reality-lab-become-a-cow-then-be-sent-to-a-slaughterhouse
https://steemit.com/cyberpunk/@rampant/mit-creates-on-skin-electronics-interface

Stories like that that haven’t already been covered don’t come around that often, so I spent many hours trying to see if there is some intersection between what does well and what I want to write about. But I didn’t have much success. So instead I started to do a lot of reading about cryptocurrency and blockchain technology. I didn’t get that deep into it. I just wanted to know what was going on out there.

What I realized is that the real opportunity for me on Steemit came from sifting through all the information on what to invest in and when. I read about syscoin and saw how many respected people think it’s seriously undervalued and this is a good time to buy. I bought some a few days ago and it’s already gone up quite a bit. I’ve learned that NEM and Maidsafe are probably good buys as well. I’ve learned that IOC, Solarcoin, Radium, and Waves may also be good buys. I’ve learned that opinions vary wildly on Dogecoin and Dash but they are interesting as well.

I’ve learned that Bitcoin may be due for another nosedive, but that economic uncertainty may cause it to remain stable or go up, though the consensus seems to be that in the long run it’s still greatly undervalued. I’ve learned that quite a few people are stockpiling gold and silver right now too.

I learned that it’s best to check both Bittrex and Poloniex when buying or selling because the price difference can be significant.

I learned that now is probably a great time to buy Bitshares (before Sept. 1) and that it has to be in OpenLedger. This is because everyone who’s anyone on Steemit (they are admittedly biased) thinks Bitshares is poised for a major move upward, and anyone who has Bitshares in OpenLedger before September 1st will also get free Peerplays tokens.

I learned about the Blockpay ICO starting August 23.

I learned about the Zcash launch on October 27.

I found an easy tutorial on how to set up steem mining on Windows, so now I’m mining steem.

I learned that the two easiest coins to mine may be Gridcoin and Hodl, and that you can mine a CPU-intensive coin and a GPU-intensive coin on the same machine. I learned that cloud mining is mostly a scam, though nicehash may be an exception.

I learned that when Zcash launches, for mining it you may do better with a Raspberry Pi cluster than a $5000 setup.

I am checking out everything I read but I am not doing any kind of careful analysis. I have neither the skills nor the time to do it. I am trusting the wisdom of the very knowledgeable crowd of whales and dolphins around here.

You can get the kind of investment information on Steemit that people get in investment newsletters they pay thousands of dollars for.

So the real curation we should be doing, while we wait for our brilliant posts to start rising to the top, is sifting through all the information about the blockchain world to see how we can maximize our investments, even if we have very little to start out with now.

I propose a new tag called minnows-curation that minnows can use to share valuable information with other minnows that is not likely to rise to the top.

What do you think?

Sort:  

Plenty of information in your post albeit a machine gun approach :)

Very much in agreement on most of your points in fact and I hold every cryptocurrency that you mentioned including doge.

Zcash is misunderstood and is NOT the holy grail of anonymity it people say it is. The fact it's a for profit US based LLC is a reason not to support it except in terms of initial mining and speculation. Please can you like to the article about Raspberry Pi clusters?

SYS had a nice breakout as did BTS as well as Monero (which you need to read up on for your own benefit).

Also check out singulardtv.com and get involved with the ICO. Easy way to buy, sell, short and repeat to make a solid profit if you're good with trading.

All the best

Yes, I agree it is a great place to learn something in the first instance.
Actually the whole idea of making money with content wouldn't attract many of the people I know.

Myself, I've learned a lot about Bitshares (unsurprisingly) and the continual discussions about Steem are fascinating. It really is a social experiment, and there's a wonderful guessing game about what it's going to become.

I agree it's a wonderful guessing game. Patience. curiosity, and persistence are needed. :)

Nice Job!!
Personally I think Steemit should default to "new" not "trending", a no-brainer if the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few(I know corny but it's so fitting). Your assessment of HODL https://steemit.com/steemit/@stoner19/hodlcoin-the-hidden-gem is spot on. I'm HODLing right now at my office. When it comes to the getting involved in coins part, start looking for what I consider good names in the cryptocurrency world. I've seen and respect @stoner19, @kushed, @nextgencrypto which are 3 members I recognize in here so far and when I'm making a decision to invest in a coin it's always comforting to see crypto talent like these guys on the rich list. Be sure to check out SALUS.

Thank you for the great advice!

What's the best CPU coin to mine?

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will chime in to answer your question, but I'll tell you my impression so far. I am still seeing people recommending mining Steem, but HOdlcoin and Gridcoin are the ones I most often see recommended. When Zcash launches, that may be a good one too.

I'm trying to mine Steem, but not having success. I was thinking mybay Monero would be better for mining, but I really don't know.

Objectivity would dictate to mine what's most profitable then invest that profit into steem. www.Poolpicker.eu doesn't have all the pools but a fair selection of the most profitable pools to mine at. For searching out individual coins www.whattomine.com and coinwarz.com are sources for which coins are profitable. Coinwarz doesn't seem to keep up with adding newer coins as well as whattomine, just a heads up.

wtf $1 and 9 months ago!?! Ti article deserves WAy more!! And it seems I already ave peerplay tokens, and yeah I have open ledger and some zapple on there...

if you wanna find teh easiest coins to mine use minergate Use my link to register and download the program https://minergate.com/a/d582a3e158500d130a38afed
for windows mac linux or Android and u can start mining Bytecoin, Ethereum Etherem classic or Monero all with a one button start easy GUI! And you get a cut of anyone you singup,

and also Mining conttracts are NOT scams! even genesis mining will make you money if you would have bought some contracts for two years a year ago when BT was $1000 you would now be making alot more! And I got a LIFETIME 3 TH contract (while profotable) for $450 at pool.bitcin.com brand new offer and already sold out in a matter of days butwith moneythey just amde tyeyll buy newhardware and sell new ocntracts! Ceappest contracts online and theyre al out!

But seriously mining cntracts WIO be worth it! Just waiit for BTCto rise to $4000 if you get contarcst now at $2000 youll be making money back faster....it DOS work as the price of BTC goes up! u cant assume teh price of BTC will stay teh same over a fewmonths time..haha u think TC will just stay teh same" of course not!

anyway u desserve WAY more for this article back 9 montsh ago!

NEVERDIE ICO is LIVE.
The first block chain based Virtual Reality gaming crypto! NEVERDIE coin will allow monetizing the game items in real cash economy game Entropia Universe. NOW game player can cash out their in-game money earned by playing game and can exchange NEVERDIE coin with other ERC20 tokens such as Gnosis, Golem, and Frist Blood.
https://steemit.com/ico/@maxtill94/nevedie-ico-full-analysus-why-you-should-buy-neverdie-coin-gaming-cryptocurrency-coin-comparision-with-gamecredit-mobilego-first
KakaoTalk_20170712_143911675.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42