The Game of Upvoting! Why should i give my vote to a Post?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This is a very difficult decision for some of us to make simply because we feel it's worthless upvoting a post from an author you don't even know or have an affiliation with. I am not exempted from this. But you see my whole idea about this issue all changed when i understood what i am about to share now.

images (3).jpg

First let's see it from this perspective that whether you upvote a post or not, planet earth will still maintain its position in the solar system as the 3rd closest to the sun. Why is this so? It's simply because if you refuse to upvote a nice post, chances are that other people will and you would have lost out from your rewards. OMG! 😱, Did i just say rewards? Yes, i did say rewards.

WHAT DO I STAND TO GAIN IF I UPVOTE A POST?

Whenever you upvote a post, a certain portion of what the author of the post gets in total is given to you. This is called curation rewards . I made a post on curation rewards in the past. You can go through my blogs and see how it goes, what percentage of the author's reward do you stand to get and all of that you will find in the post.

Also to add upvoting makes the train go round, in the sense that you can't upvote a post without benefiting somehow.

WHAT WILL I LOOSE IF I UPVOTE A POST?

The answer is simply NOTHING. The only thing that can happen is that your upvoting power reduces, and this isn't a problem because the upvoting power on its own refills when low.

WHAT TO DO THEN?

Frankly speaking, it's good to weigh the merits and the demerits and see which is better. It should be lucid enough by now to say that the benefits of upvoting out weighs that of not upvoting by far.
Therefore if you don't upvote a day you would have ended up cheating on yourself at the end of the day.

Please Upvote and Resteem

Peace,
Gospel

Sort:  

I'm glad you wrote this as I have been wondering why people do not upvote when it is in their interests to do so. It costs them nothing and yet they earn from it also?

If a post is absolutely terrible then I can understand it as we are trying to curate good content with our votes.

The other way is to resteem. I resteemed this for example so that others will see and understand the processes here. I'm still learning and need all the help I can get.

I don't do this follow for follow nonsense because that is completely pointless in my view. Steemit is nothing like Twitter of Facebook and the quicker people catch on to that idea the better.

I only follow people whose posts I enjoy, like or learn from. Thanks for posting this. Very helpful.

Very interesting as I'm brand new! Gracias 🙌🏼

Welcome pal

Resteeming this! The whole voting thing has had me confused.

I just read this post and it was so worth the reading. Unfortunately it was already paid out so my upvote was a little bit too late

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53