Is It UPvote Worthy & Other Steemit ThoughtssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

riosparada.jpg
Image by @riosparada

Deciding If UPvote Is Worthy

I may have only been on steemit for about nine weeks, but I have learned a plethora of information about block-chain, whales and minnows (and even who the red fish are), SP and sbd, how to check the market to buy and sell steem through the exchange and even what I would like to see steemit add to make the site more user-friendly and convenient for members.

I have watched other, more experienced, users and the way they either UPvote or don't UPvote; and I have taken silent lessons of determining what is worthy of my finger and mouse clicking that little round button.

You Like Post; But How Much?

Instead of being trigger or finger happy with my UPvote button, I have decided to take a step back and weight the options of what is a post I really like, have something important to add to the conversation and if it deems sharing with my followers.
Now I know this may sound selfish, as I have been less UPvote-y lately, but I have a method to my steemit madness.

What I have changed in my daily commenting frenzy has been to take a moment and write a well-thought out comment. I usually try to make it an open-ended question, or it gives the opportunity for others to add to my comment if they agree or don't agree. This is a great dialogue technique that I can trace back to my high school days when my Speech teacher practically demanded persuasion in all our arguments.

After a couple of weeks of using this technique, I have noticed more conversations, friendly debate, more UPvotes for my comments and more of a pay-out of steem at the end of seven days. I have been able to find more members that I follow as well as increasing my following. It is a win-win.

Now don't get me wrong, I do UPvote posts still. I am just more stringent with where I click and what post I delegate it to.


Think about how Elaine Benis would determine the worthiness of a limited supply of UPvotes and power. She would only UPvote those that she thought worthy of the click. Elaine would over-analyze the process and what she would gain from it. It's not that I am thinking only of myself, but when I do UPvote, resteem or comment, I want the post creator to benefit too. After so many UPvotes a day, you lose your power; it lessens. So if I come across a REALLY good post late in my day, do I have the power to give this person for their hard work? Or did I frolic too much and give away to much power willy-nilly earlier?

It's all a deep thought process...
When I first started on steemit, I thought the UPvote was a like. But it's not. It is a way you delegate power and steem. So tread carefully as a newcomer/minnow/red fish. Read posts by whales and veteran steemians. Learn from your errors and grow.

Setting Up Groups To Make Finding/Stalking Members Easier

I really wish steemit had a way we could categorize the people we follow. I have such a vast array of people I follow with a variety of interests but I like to see what certain people are posting about everyday. So to do that, I have to search each individual person/profile.

Isn't there a way we can make a label for certain profiles and members and just go to that label/group/tab and see all the people we have in there?

I like to see the price of steem every day, so I check out/search for @simonjay cause he has a daily steem price post.
I like to check out the @originalworks curators of the day. So I have to search them too.
I like to read @papa-pepper posts daily cause he offers great minnow advice and some AWESOME homesteading posts.
I like to visit @em3 and @goathollow cause they write fun to read posts.
I like to... it goes on and on...
But if I had them all in their category tab, life would be easier and my time spent searching individuals out on steemit would be cut down a lot.

Seriously, this would be extremely helpful.

I belong to a homesteaders' community and slack group here on steemit but I have to find each person's post(s) every day. I miss SO many great posts too.

So if you're listening Steemit Gods, please make a members filter that we can keep certain people in certain places to find. Think of it like your contact list in your smart phone. We have our favorites, we have our 'friends', we have our family... let us tab away our followers and followees.

HAVE A GREAT DAY EVERYONE

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead slack community and have fun chatting with us- click picture below.
DQmTa57Whsb55DXfodWEvxENX4NUzyU7kqqvnx9Fuf95D1H_1680x8400.jpg

DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
Badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

Wisdom speaks. This is a very thoughtful article and shows maturity. This community is about community. About thinking of the other guy. We are glad to be acquainted with you goldendawne. Thanks

thank you @leaving-egypt
And yes, it is a community that builds off each other, we assist others and not being selfish is a way to grow

How do you make someones name a link like you did? I have so much to learn. lol

just type in @leaving-egypt and it will automatically hyperlink to the person's page

check out the FAQs section in the upper right hand corner of your page. Tons of formatting tips there... links, centering pics, etc, making titles and subtitles' font sizes. All great info

See? This is why older people need younger people when it comes to technology. I hadn't even noticed it. Thanks

I found this post upvote worthy AND resteem worthy! I especially agree with the thought about being able to categorize your follows. But, what is a red fish?

It all has to do with the vests you have
https://steemit.com/steemit/@oneshot/what-are-you-on-steemit-red-fish-minnow-dolphin-orca-or-whale

I just learned the term and phrase two weeks ago after repeatedly seeing it mentioned in posts.
Never knew of it

you go here https://steemdb.com/@insertyourname and it tells you how many 'vests' you have

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.64
ETH 2393.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64