@cindyhartz Makes A GREAT Point: How To Incorporate More For Steemians

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

money-2724241_1280.jpg

Image Source- Pixabay- Nattanan23

In the wee hours this morning I was scrolling through some posts on steemit and came across one from where @berniesanders was asking "What services or products would increase the value of STEEM?" and @cindyhartz was one of dozens and dozens who offered up their own thoughts.

I read the comment made by Cindy and stopped...

ss .png

And the part that really drew me in (as a writer and seller on online) was this...

Offer an easily accessible marketplace where people can sell products and services for Steem . Make it like a hybrid/cross between Upwork. Etsy and Fiverr.

First...

  • Years ago I was a freelancer on Upwork (the old Elance/oDesk). I was being hired on the platform over the years and lived through the transition from Elance/oDesk to Upwork. I made thousands upon thousands of dollars on the platform(s). But then, life (and steemit) happened and I turned more of my attention to this platform.
    Was that a mistake? Not sure.
    I was once a newspaper reporter who lived by deadlines (which you do have on Upwork), but I prefer the more laid back way I can write on steemit. Plus I can pick the topics I want to write about and if I miss a day or two of posting, I don't have an email inbox full of heated questions as to why I was not finished with a project. I am my own boss here.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Second...

  • FIVERR- I tried this platform too, but the buyers were too nit-picky and after doing the assigned/hired task, they demanded more... then refused to pay. Sad... this is why many freelancers give up on their writing dream. Granted FIVERR was a dfferent class of buyers, but I just couldn't get into it. So I left.

What about @steemgigs?
A place (tag) used to allow steemians to sell his or her services.
People are still using this...

https://steemgigs.org/

Freelance services for your business, by reputable like-minds

But unless you are an active contributor who is selling services,who is using it?
Honestly, I was once a member of the Discord group, but in a culling of Discord in early 2018, I removed myself from the group. No other reasons than I wasn't utilizing the tag and wasn't participating in the Discord group.

I do believe that creator @surpassinggoogle is attempting to have @steemgigs be the replacement of Upwork and FIVERR here on steemit. And I applaud the effort here for him and ALL the steemians who are using it.

But I have to ask... the steemians who are using it... how has the job market for sales been?

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Third...

  • Etsy- this is where I sell seeds, other handmade items and have found myself making a few dollars here and there to add to my Paypal account for making purchases for the homestead. I'm by no means making a killing selling wild lettuce, feverfew and other various garden seeds on this platform, but again, this is just a little side-hustle so I can make purchases for around here. I am not making this a full-time job.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

BUT... thinking how Cindy brought Etsy into play, this got me remembering @steembay.

@steembay is still on the platform; and here's is themost recent report they posted just hours ago.

HECK, I even made a few purchases from fellow steemians using steembay bidding... but it's been quite some time.

Anyone else? Who has sold via steembay in the last year?

I am in no way or means making light of people's efforts for creating new initiatives to further steemit, I am just curious as to why when a new project or idea pops up, we are all gung-ho and participate... but then it slowly slides away.

So to quote @berniesanders...

What do you think would bring some value to STEEM and give people a REAL reason to want to buy?

Stop over to his post to read the hundreds of comments.

Sorry for using the link and quoting you here @berniesanders, but this topic has me really thinking...

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I'd forgotten all about Steembay. Maybe the reason it hasn't really taken off is because there are so few people on here in comparison to the amount of potential bidders/buyers you'd get on eBay. Then, of course, you'll also need enough steem to bid on things, which many don't have and buying it isn't quite as simple as using PayPal.

These things really need to be marketed more outside of Steem too bring a user base in rather than hoping Steem will bring one in. Even then, how many people will go through the process to be able to use crypto? Until there is a mass adoption of crypto to the point where people are comfortable using it, just as they are now comfortable using fiat currency online, it's not going to be easy to get a user base for these sorts of things.

Some great food for thought here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for sharing this! And, as you may have guessed, I had no idea that Steembay and some of these other interfaces even existed. Since I’m pretty pro-Steem, we have identified other problems! Lack of visibility to name one!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Steembay was launched a fair bit before you joined us and everybody was taking about it at the time. I guess the novelty wore off, though, so its no surprise that you haven't heard of it.

Many people I talk to about Steem are put off by the crypto side of things. People don't like change from what they're used to, so it could take years before people become comfortable enough to be happy using crypto, unless they have little other choice. There is probably more onboarding happening in places like Venezuela, because they need the money enough to try something new.

Posted using Partiko Android

Makes sense on the Steembay.

Exactly on the onboarding! We have to look at the motivating factors and provide motivation to people who want long term investments as well as those that need money for living expenses.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You just brought @steembay alive to my memory. I had almost forgotten about it.... Until I read... Then..
"oh yes, how on earth I forgot about steembay"

I am not too good with marketing and stuff like that, but yes, Steem does need to up their game to gain more exposure to the world out there and not just confined to Steemians.

This post makes me think too.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.902 which ranks you at #1286 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 94 contributions, your post is ranked at #82.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82