Are Steemit Promotions dead?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I don't want to sound Apocalyptic or install FUD but I think Steemit promotions are pretty much dead now.

Recently I wrote a detailed article https://steemit.com/steemit/@gokulnk/there-is-no-free-money-in-steemit and I felt that it deserved some attention and thought of giving promotions one more try in spite of my failed attempts earlier. So I went to the promotions tabs to figure out what was the current rates of promotions for the first page. The third post had spent 136 SBD on the promotions and the fourth post had spent 100 SBD on the promotion. So I transferred 101 SBD to null to secure myself the fourth spot on the most coveted promotions or so I thought.

steemit-promotions.png

My post was in this spot for a day. After that it moved to the fifth. I checked and saw that somebody had bid for 102 SBD. So I had to add another 1.5 SBD to get back to my position :)

Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 10.59.32 PM.png

As you can see from the image or the tab https://steemit.com/promoted my post is still in the sixth/seventh position. Here are the stats from promotion.

  1. 128 upvotes
  2. 62 comments
  3. Couple of Resteems
  4. 80 new followers

In couple of minutes the payout of the post will be coming and it will be less than 4 SBD. So on an investment of 100 SBD I only got a return of 4 SBD and 80 new followers. Will these 80 followers be worth more than 80 SBD. Over the time I definitely think they will add more value. But if you are looking at tangibles a 4 SBD return on a 100 SBD investment is real bad.

If the above are the stats for the First page promotions posts, the numbers only get worse if you are not on the first page. I have tried promotions around the time I first joined Steemit. I tried with 1 SBD, 2 SBD and 10SBD. None of them yielded any results at all. That is because today the Promotions are like Google search results. All the efforts you put and the money invest are only valuable if you make it to the first page. If you are in the second page no body cares. If you are placed beyond that it is like you don't exist. Same is the case with Steemit promotions. This is a serious bummer for people who would like to invest anything less than 50 SBD on their posts. I feel sorry for all those users who are spending a couple of SBDs thinking that there posts will get some visibility. No they won't!! Stop spending your SBDs if it doesn't get you on the first page.

Screen Shot 2017-08-13 at 12.15.57 AM.png

For promotions to be more meaningful I think the ROI on promotions should increase. Steemit can work on the following to increase the ROI for the users of the platform.

  1. Interlace the promoted posts in the category sections under the tabs new and trending.
  2. Interlace the promoted posts in the users feeds. Make it prominent in the feeds of your followers and make it sticky for some time.
  3. Interlace the promoted posts in the feeds of the non followers based on the other similar posts.

Steemit devs should take this up seriously. The writing is very clear on the wall.

  1. As you can see from my first image, the highest payout in all the posts above mine is 10 SBD.
  2. The costs for promotions for first six spots was consistently around 220 SBD . Today this has already come down to 100 SBD.
  3. People are already commenting about being disappointed with Promotions.

Screen Shot 2017-08-13 at 12.11.53 AM.png

As you can make out from the above image there is a strong correlation between the price of Steem and the contributions being done to null. So fixing promotions should be of atmost importance to steemit team. @dan hope you listening.

Sort:  

your post may not have been of interest thats why it didn't get the ROI that you expected, not all content is the same. This means someone else may make more than ROI depending on their post. Your intend was not to promote your post you wanted to show us that it didn't work.

If mine was a one off case I could agree with your point. But it is the same case with the top 7 posts on that page. All of them have had rewards less than 10 SBD. A few of the posts have got more than 100 upvotes but still the payouts are less. I agree that my post may not have been of interest to many. But if steemit can start providing some numbers it will be great feedback and users can decide where to spent their money.

who decides to vote? users do. What happens if 1% of users liked and voted for your post? You would have made more than you spent.

May be you are right. Could be that the posts in promotions are not interesting enough for users and hence not many are checking it out. That could be one of the reasons why the cost of first spot on promotions tab is coming down. Should try promoting the next article with better content that will capture readers attention.

I actually never check promoted content page, I find them overrated 90% of times

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57617.33
ETH 3012.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39