A new upgrade promoting rewards hoarding

in #steemit6 years ago

I noticed while posting a comment the other day that we now have the option within the comments screen on how to split the comment payout, as well as the option to automatically upvote your comment. This pushes another 100% upvote straight back on to your own content.

I just see this as a step backwards in terms of rewards greed and hoarding. The idea of the platform is to give value to other peoples content, not just your own. It appears to be setting a dangerous precedent and shows an acceptance by Steemit to raise the amount of Self Votes and the ease with which these are given out.

Would love to hear your thoughts.

Sort:  

I'm just commenting to get myself a reward :)

"A lot of people" (weasel words hoi XD) don't like the idea of removing the self-upvote altogether. I'm not one of them, but in the end don't really care. I do think they should remove the checkbox though.

Adding the ability to manipulate what you want to do with comments as well as posts doesn't seem like the worst idea other than that.

Also I haven't encountered that little update yet as I use either busy or mspsteem

goatsig

I don't like that automatic upvote option. It shouldn't be that easy. I do like the option to decline or power up 100% though. I wouldn't mind seeing a 5-10% comment reward distribution to the post author creating the discussion in the first place.

P.S: is that a Bunnings wish list tab open... your christmas list?

yes i do like that option very much.

haha yes keen eyes, I often use the wishlist as a shopping list if I have to go to bunnings. Lucky I didn't have Redtube or anything open lol

I thought that option has been there all along. I've been in Steem since July. Maybe I just didn't notice and it's just one of many things I haven't noticed until it is pointed out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97