You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I bought up-votes today. Here's why.

in #steemit6 years ago

Sellout's a bit rough, I think, for what you're calling an experiment. :)

It will be interesting to see how much the payout adjusts, though. I had a post that shaved roughly $2 off before it paid out.

Sort:  

Sellout is a marketing strategy, haha. 😂

Yes it will. Initially, I forgot to deduct the 25% curation, but even after that I think the post will be profitable.

Profitable being relative, and how often that or a better profit can be realized. Which means, more experimentation. Or I guess, in marketing terms, selling out. :)

What do you mean by realizing a better profit?

Oh, I was just trying to say that if you realized, for example, a 2 SBD profit on one post with bots, and then turned around and had a 1 SBD profit on the next and it never really went higher than 2 SBD, that wouldn't be so great. But if you were able to maintain the 2 SBD average and higher that would be an example of a better profit. You'd be hitting the same profit you started out with consistently, rather that being your high and going down hill from there.

Are you saying that, provided I would be buying upvotes regularly, it would be better for me to start lower and build up gradually?

I guess it makes sense to spread out the votes. The thing is though, you never know when things start to really take of thanks to your position on the trending/hot page. In that case, having more posts with lower votes seems less of a opportinity.

Sorry. I must not be communicating my point very well.

Let's see. I was just trying to say that if you're making a consistent profit where it doesn't go below a certain level, but might go up on a occasion, that might be worth it, depending on the size of the profit from using the bidbots. However, if over time, use of the bidbots caused a decrease in profits, that wouldn't be so great, nor would it be if your initial profit wasn't what you obtained with the first go. In other words, the first experience would not be indicative of any other successive experience.

And yes this was only if you continued your experiment. Wasn't at all trying to encourage (or discourage) the use of bidbots, or give advice on how to use them, because I don't know any of that.

And I agree, if someone is using the bidbots to get onto the trending page but isn't paying a bunch in SBD to get there, they might as well save their money, or hope people are going to the trending pages of the specific tag where their post may or may not get noticed there.

Ah, I see. I realize that in order to create any reasonable data, I would have to conduct more instances of the experiment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60