You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steemits' ranking system being destroyed?

in #steemit6 years ago

At this point, the only real thing that the reputation ranking really does is help to fend off flags. With the higher ranking, you can lose rewards without being knocked back to 25 or below, where you can't really do much.

Otherwise, it's not been a trusted source for good content for a while now.

I don't look at the trending page. I look at what's in my feed, I look at what's in the nobidbot tag, and I will go looking at some others. I also go looking for posts from those in the curation and engagement leagues. Between those things, I typically find plenty to read and curate.

It's helped a lot to avoid discouragement. I don't know how to solve the abuse or misuse or whatever we're calling it of the bidbots, especially by the larger accounts who supposedly don't need the boost because they're the larger account. The dirty little secret apparently is, unless you have people who regularly read and curate your stuff, or have you on autovote, it's not a guarantee that you will get much out of your work even with high SP.

Sort:  

I wasn't aware of the #nobidbot tag either! Thank you! I will try to remember to use it from now on.

It's not been around for very long, two to three weeks, I think? It could definitely use more posts. I'd guess there's probably less than 50 people who regularly use it now, or at the very least, I see a lot of the same people posting regularly. :)

I know a high rep isn't a good source for content but atleast you use to know who has put in time and effort on the platform, now that doesn't mean shit.
I didn't even realize there was a #nobidbot tag! I will be using that one on some of my upcoming post for sure, and its somewhere I will go to look for posts too..
As far as looking at my own feed, I do that often too but that doesn't help me to find new steemians with good content, I also like to help out new steemians so they have a better chance at staying on steemit.

I don't know how to solve the problem of bid bots either, I don't think they are bad all together, I just think the abuse of huge upvotes is getting out of control. I just think starting a conversation about issues is better than avoiding them. Hopefully the right people will see it. :)

Yeah, hopefully. I think the bidbot discussion is well underway, and there are people who are doing a few things. We'll see where all that goes.

Yeah, it's tough to know longevity anymore, and the bots do have a lot to do with that.

Have you gone looking at the ASAPers stuff or Newbie Resteem Day? There's a few newbie related things associated with them. They try go get through as many of the newer people's posts as they can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60883.28
ETH 2401.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63