You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ❓Are you getting quality comments on your posts?❓

in #steemit6 years ago

I don't get spam a lot yet, which tells you where my posts go (not the hot or trending pages), but what little I do, more times than not (it's hit and miss), I will try to reply to it. Some of these folks just don't know better, and others hardly speak English, and it's tough to tell that from the actual spammers (who can't be making much in rewards if all they're saying is, "good post.")

It's only happened once or twice, but I've actually had people thanking me for letting them know. Most of the time, no reply.

I do like the proactive approach you take to this. While we both know people are bound to give no or very little effort to reading what we write, that doesn't mean we can't do something to encourage it. Even informational posts can be engaging. It might take more thought on how to present it, but that's okay because it will only improve the value of the post.

Sort:  

Yes, that's spot on. It forces us to think harder about how we create our content. I actually enjoy trying little things to inspire conversation.

This topic was certain to generate conversation given that it's something every active and engaged user is passionate about on Steemit.

But other posts need more effort put in to generating conversation.

My "drink your urine" post is an example of one that was designed to generate conversation, and it worked well. Others don't pan out as well, such as my beer reviews for example. But I do those for another competition and most of the engagement is on the competition page rather than my post.

I've tried educating spammers a couple of times before as well. It rarely works so I find hitting them with a flag is a quick way to tell them how highly their input is valued.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66