You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Steemit Considers Comments as Posts : A Detailed Guide on Why You Should Focus More On Commenting

in #steemit6 years ago

Very informative article @jbn. Thanks.

I worked out very early on that I could get much traction by commenting than I was getting on my blog posts so that is where I spend the majority of my time. That, and replying to comments on my own posts.

However, it is only in the last couple of weeks that I have learned that you can still comment on posts that have paid out.

But . . . just to clarify, If I post a comment on someone's blog and nobody upvotes it then there will be no payout on it. Is that correct?

Also, I wasn't aware of the 75/25 split. That's useful to know. Sort of obvious now I think about it but I just hadn't considered it before. Primarily because I'm mainly commenting hoping new people will visit my posts, rather than for the money.

And one more point of clarification . . . if I reply to a comment on my own blog then that reply becomes a post in it's own right. Is that correct?

Thanks! 😊

Sort:  

But . . . just to clarify, If I post a comment on someone's blog and nobody upvotes it then there will be no payout on it. Is that correct?

Since comments are posts, and posts only earns rewards when upvoted, then I think that it's correct to say that there will be no payout on the comment.

And one more point of clarification . . . if I reply to a comment on my own blog then that reply becomes a post in it's own right. Is that correct?

Yes. Any comment you make on Steemit is a post even if the comment is on your own blog. At the same time, posts are different from articles. All posts are not articles. All articles published on Steemit are posts. I hope I won't cause more confusion with this.

It is as I thought then. Thanks for the clarification @stojay007. 😊

Gillian i was writing a detailed response for you but i slept halfway through it. Its 1 past midnight here and m drowning :p i will reply to all of your queries tomorrow in morning..

No problem @jbn. Get a good night's sleep. 💤

Spot on..

First of all, thank you gillian for your response. Your support is always appreciated. Now to answer your queries :-

But . . . just to clarify, If I post a comment on someone's blog and nobody upvotes it then there will be no payout on it. Is that correct?

Yes, there will be no payout. Actually when steemit was created, there used to be a reward for author who wrote parent blog, which was somewhat 25% of the earnings of commentators. Now that reward quota has been removed (i dont exactly know in which hardfork they did so). So now your comments are 100% yours. If you earn upvotes on your comments, you will be paid, if your comments do not receive any upvote, payout will be zero.

Also, I wasn't aware of the 75/25 split.

It isn’t exactly 75/25 split. It depends. Generally it is 75/25. For instance if you have written a post and you get an upvote seconds after posting it, you will get 100% of the upvote. If you get an upvote after 15 minutes, the split is somewhat 85-15. After 30 minutes it is 75-25. With each passing minute leading upto first 30 minutes, the percentage will change. However, beyond that, it is 75-25%.

And one more point of clarification . . . if I reply to a comment on my own blog then that reply becomes a post in it's own right. Is that correct?

Yes that is correct. Each comment you post, no matter where (that includes replying to your own comment too), will be considered as a post itself.

I hope that i have answered all of your queries, if there is still left any, please by all means, do not hesitate to send it my way ^_^

Thanks @jbn. I've copied and pasted your answers into my note file in case I forget again. it seems to take a long time to really get all this information to stick.
I did have another question for you but I've forgotten it again now!
If it comes to me again I'll let you know! 😊

NO problem at all. I will be happy to help you whenever you will ask me a question.. ^_^ cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25