London Steemit MeetUp - 2.2.18 - SMAC Day 3

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Steemians in the Flesh


Here's my third post for @future24's Steemit Monthly Author Challenge (SMAC) where I get to make a post about my life each day, for 30 days.

Yesterday was a particularly exciting one for me because I got to meet my first real live Steemians. Woo hoo!

20180202_172825.jpg

A couple of weeks ago @redrica organised and posted an invitation to a meet-up in London which I somehow stumbled across. No idea how. But very happy I did! 😁

I immediately decided I was going to go but then when I started looking into travel arrangements I began to get cold feet. It wasn't starting until 6 p.m. and I knew I'd only have a couple of hours before I 'd need to leave and make the 3 hour return journey home.

Enter @immarojas to the rescue!

Gillian and Immarojas 2.jpg

The lovely Imma very kindly offered to meet me early so I could get more Steemian time in and, after a lot of to-ing and fro-ing we finally decided on meeting at Moorgate, which for some reason I described erroneously, as being at the end of the Northern Line. 😕 From there we headed back to Liverpool Street to a little cafe where we had coffee and cake and hunkered down to share Steemit experiences.

From there Imma took me back to the station where we met up with @teodora and Enrika.

We got to the meetup venue, the Queen of Hoxton, about 5.30 where upon Enrika managed to get some changes made to the tables so that we could have two large ones next to each other and Teodore and Imma set about sellotaping signs to the window.

The venue was a really fun place with a dance floor downstairs and a roof top terrace where you could get food and lounge around on cushions.

Enrika had come prepared and had cashed out some SBD, to buy us all our first round of drinks! We decided on a bottle of red to start with and now we were all set, ready for the first arrivals.

Steemit Meeet Up.jpg

As the evening went on more and more people arrived until there were 20 or so of us. Very exciting and bodes well for the future!

I didn't get to speak to everyone but enjoyed conversations with a number of fellow Steemians including @dragosroua, creator of the steem.supply tool which I use everyday.

We had an interesting talk about his tags tool but, it wasn't until the train ride home that I realised that was I was asking for wasn't possible. I was talking as though each post has one tag when, in fact it has 5. No wonder he thought we had a different understanding of how tags work in Steemit! 😁 😁 😁

@simonjay and I had a good chat about the pros and cons of niches, amongst other things, @adetorrent and I got into a competition about who had won the most photo contests 😁, @ivargereiko and I traded stories of how we got into Steemit and where we hoped to go with it, @teodora and I discussed certain vegan projects and alternative lifestyles, and @ultravioletmag gave me the low down on delegation and other strategies.

These are the ones that popped into my head there were many others and thanks to all you for making it such a fun evening.

Thanks to @bristena94 for keeping a note of us all! 😊

Meet up register.jpg

Here's a pic, curtesy of @bristena94 that shows a bit of the atmosphere.

Steemit Meetup Lights.jpg

Sadly, I had to leave before the party, party got going but I'll be back.

Liverpool Street Station.jpg

8.30 pm saw me wending my way homewards which took 6 trips on public transport!!!

If I'd been more on the ball it could have been 4 but I took the tube in the wrong direction and had to double back thereby missing my train to Brighton and having to get 2 instead of 1. It was most definitely worth it though and a huge thanks to @redrica for organising ti and being the perfect hostess. 💙



~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Thanks to @future24 for starting the [Steemit Monthly Author Challenge](https://steemit.com/steemit/@future24/steemit-challenge-idea-the-monthly-author-badget-challenge.
Click on the link for details as to how you can join in.

Sort:  

It was great to meet you Gillian! Thanks for making the effort to come out, and hopefully next time the meetup will be easier for you to get to :)

I hope you enjoyed meeting the other new and old Steemians last night, and hope it encourages you to keep Steeming! All the best!

I loved it @redrica. Thanks!

Hahaha. I think you beat me a the photo contests :) I pretty much lost to everyone in all the contests I got into with them, including SBDs, SP, Followers, Posts, heck, join date :)

Yeah. But you won on video knowledge and execution! 😊

I think your train mess up was worse than mine! I am glad you got home safe! Maybe next time we should organise a sleepover for those who come from far! Or stay till the end and then get on the first train afterwards! 😁

If there's another one on a Friday that takes so long to get to I'll probably look into getting a travel lodge or something cheap for the night. I have a friend in London I can stay with too but it wasn't straight forward to get to his place either. Did you travel down from Birmingham?

Yes! But it is a straight journey! I think it would have been better to stay at the venue until the end because I have heard it finished after 5 am! Plus I had a 3-year old waiting for me at home, went to sleep very late!

That's what she was saying before the meet...stay overnight! Steve from Wales definitely needed to stay. Nice to meet you Jana.

Of all the people I was really looking forward meeting Steve because we have been engaging in conversation on Steemit. Sadly, I missed his arrival!

Shame☺☺
Next time..meet-ups and promo-steem in Wales?

Or maybe midlands! 😏 I really would like to find people around and make it a bit more local! London is so big, takes forever to get to the place from the location you arrive at! 😄

Yeah..a meet-up in Midlands would do that the Londoners can join. That would be cool!

You too. Just saw your post in Discord about a mid-week day time meet up. I'm definitely up for that! 💙

Nice meeting you Gillian!! But 6 trips??? You need practice girl.

Ha, ha, ha! Yes I did cock it up a bit but I'm very willing to practice! 💙

Glad you didn't miss your train...perhaps in the future meet-ups, it will be around the country. Or go see @stevec gigs wherever that is ;)

@stevec goes to an account that hasn't started blogging yet!!! And, before I forget, this is the guy I was telling you about - @whatamidoing

My bad Gillian sorry..thank you, let me check him out.

Good write up on the event great to meet you @gillianpearce enjoyed our convo and glad you came out to meet some fellow Steemians.

How cool is that! Awesome! :)

It certainly was!😊

Awesome work.. cant believe you met steemians in real life.. seems like a party that i would love to go to.. great work..

Thank you. It was good fun and I suspect there will be many more opportunities. A few of us are meeting for coffee on Weds so hopefully we'll keep the momentum going from here.

This post received a 4.200 SBD (80.01%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @gillianpearce! For more information, check out my profile!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63775.42
ETH 3493.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53