You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Germany Just Did Will Make You Afraid, Very Afraid

in #steemit7 years ago

We're getting a rush of front-ends to format and selectively serve content from the Steemit blockchain. (There's an economic incentive to dev these apps -- they take a cut of user upvotes.)

It's all very good, so long as we retain full access to the blockchain.

I'm sure we'll soon see a Steemit.com clone that offers a fully uncensored (un-greyed-out) experience.

When onboarding improves (expense, anonymity), I'm guessing we'll see 4chan occupy a neighborhood here, too.

I see a future where we all have a place on this blockchain, accessing with our preferred app, and level of filtering.

Now let's prepare ourselves for the mainstream media backlash!

xD

Sort:  

LOL Ermagerd 4chins!

So, does this information you provide (new to me) mean that Germany compatible Steemit is potential?

I'm ambivalent about that. Prolly good for Steemit atm, but I reckon a fully blossomed Steemit that was uncensorable at all would eventually be good for Germany.

I could see them getting their own special version of Steemit in their App Store. Germany has had similar censorship with video games. What’s China gonna do? I think we know...

What I fear is that there may be no haven for free speech left in a world in the glare of the panopticon, subjected to the eternal boot to the face that is American law in the wake of the Patriot act, and eternally blinded to the truth of our sovereignty by opaque propaganda.

In my lifetime I have seen America go from a bastion of liberty to the most venal despoiler of it.

I haz a sad about it, but more importantly, wonder where might now be, the land of the free.

Recently Gov. Jesse Ventura mentioned in an interview that he was going to supply content on RT.com, because other outlets were too leery of his freethinking ways.

I'm not sure Russia is going to preserve freedom of speech in a world that has lost the taste for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43