Steemit is the only income for some Senior Steemians! Let us support them!

in #steemit7 years ago

Image source

I have been here on Steemit for at least 11 months. I have not skipped a day.  I have worked very hard to build followers and to bring some quality posts.  I do this daily.  I have gone through all the changes on Steemit.  I have had good payouts and I have had low payouts. I have met wonderful friendly people. I have met people here that I can call my friends, even though I have never met some of them.  

I know that there are still many changes coming on this platform, and I am willing to adapt.  Steemit has given me the opportunity to send my son to University and up to date I have NOT made any loans. I know that I have said this before, but I will be forever grateful for @ned and @dan for this brilliant platform.

Steemit has become my second income, and as a teacher, I definitely need a second income...BUT for many people Steemit is their ONLY income, and after the latest Hardfork, things have been tough. I am not talking about young people that can actually still go and find a job to support themselves.  

I am talking about the Senior citizen community here on Steemit!!!

 

There are some brilliant writers on this platform, and they totally rely on their Steemit income.  They are NOT lazy to go and find a job, they are just NOT the right age to go and work.  Senior citizens can change this platform because they are wise, and they've been around the block.   

Although they might be technologically impaired; there are quite a few Steemians here currently on Steemit that honestly NEED support. Some of them have grown with this platform and I believe that they are a great asset to this platform.  Steemit gives many of them the opportunity to share their wisdom and we might really learn something from them.  

If you know of any steemians older than the age of 60 please comment here and send the name of the member.  I would like to compile a proper list of everyone over 60 years of age, and then see if we can't find a better way to support them.  

Steemit has helped me out of very difficult situations, so it is time to give back!  I would really like it if some of my fellow steemians could support me in this new venture.  If you are willing to support or have any ideas,  please leave a comment and we can get together and make a plan!

Image source

If you enjoy my content please follow me 

Sort:  

I am so proud of you my darling daughter. This is one of your best posts ever. You have such a big heart and care for others. Thank you for your wonderful post. I think that this is an awesome idea. Upvoted and resteemed.

@bigbear you have a right to be proud of your daughter because she is doing something very great for the seniors. I've seen how many seniors skip medication because they need food to eat. Being 67, after I retired, I had to pay higher costs for medication which was challenging. I was fortunate to have prepared for my retirement but many seniors didn't before they retired. It is very sad because they have really worked hard throughout their lives and have to face the challenges of day to day living. You and your husband have done an excellent job of raising such a caring person!!! You are a wonderful person too!

O my dear friend you are just so kind we tried our best, but this I think came from God as well. Do you know my son on here, he is just as good a kid, but Giantbear does a lot for other people. Sometimes I feel I can do more but I am also to old now. My mother in law take a lot of my time you know she is 95 .
Thank you for such a wonderful complimant. I wish I could chat for hours here with you.
Have a wonderful day and kiss Lady for me.

@bigbear, it may be from God but it is also from you and your husband that made your children so wonderful. You both were role models so you deserve all the credit. I love people who really care about others no matter what. When your daughter asked me to write for Steemiteducation I initially was concerned because I wasn't a teacher. But after doing my first post I felt better about it. It has been very rewarding with the wonderful comments....I enjoy writing about the learning disability and handicapped areas. Do you know if I write more, will it be too much for Steemiteducation? I don't want to overwhelm them. I've really been enjoying writing. It has helped me to focus on other things and to express my internal being.

I better not overwhelm you so I'll close here. I hope you take care of yourself too. It sounds like you do so much!! And Bigbear, I really treasure your friendship and comments too!!!!! Take care! :D

I love you Friends!!! I am not a senior yet but I would love to know who some of you are :) I am sure you can teach me a lot and I am oh so very willing to learn. Can't wait to meet my new Steem Senior Friends .. SUNSHINE247

@sunshine247 we are not sure who the seniors are yet except for myself and @bigbear. @giantbear you can contact her and I'm sure she will have a list of wonderful seniors soon. You are such a kind and loving person so I can see why your name is sunshine247. Your really shine bright!

@giantbear is in the process of putting together a program so perhaps you can follow her or contact her to let her know that you want to meet seniors. You are so right in that seniors really have a lot of experience and wisdom having gone through a long life. Thank-you for your bright smile and good heart! :D

I have been following giantbear for a while now :) I am here to help, let me know what I can do to spread my sunshine to the wonderful seniors of Steemit!!! SUNSHINE247

Sunshine247 just by being you is foremost the most important thing. And then just giving your wonderful uplifting comments will do the trick. I believe just showing appreciation makes us senior feel very full and wanted. Especially those who put in their hard work and effort because they care need just a thank-you. You are a bright beam of light especially when days become dark at times. Never change your spirit and good will. It is so important for all. Thank-you Sunshine247! Have a great day. I live in Hawaii so it is time for bed. So I will close with a great big ALOHA! :D :D :D

You should be and proud of yourself as well! (She didn't get awesome on her own)

Hey, I know an old guy!

Who thinks he can write?

He's having his doubts!

He shouldn't he is brilliant!

Never quit!!! No one likes a quitter :) I lover you friend!!! SUNSHINE247

I met an old guy once!

Anybody I know???

Come on @papa-pepper how can we support these guys? If we all think together then we can come up with a big plan! We have never done any project together so let this be the first one please....please please! :)

@papa-pepper has been a huge help- he drove across Arkansas to help me! He's one of the best people on Steemit!

That is a post for @grandpere :)

Told you!

there are some people who are trying to make it a earning source.... how about help them?

I still have a job. The older community can't go and work...they are just too old. Steemit was never intended to become a main source of income, although it is possible.... but very few people will succeed. It could be a supplement to your current salary. There are honestly just too many people on the platform...early adopters might have a chance but even I am struggling and I have been here for nearly a year.

I think this is a wonderful idea -

great idea and I highly appreciate that !

I am going to be 69 this September 9th and although I would love to retire I just can't. (Don't forget the presents!) Haha!
I will have to work until I am into my 70's for sure.
It would be so nice to make $500 extra month with steemit, then I could consider retiring.
Thanks for the post.
....upvoted and resteemed

I will add you to the list. You can't work forever...but it keeps you young to work I think...lol

I think so. If I wasn't working I would spend most everyday writing articles.
I will always be doing "something"
Thanks!

Hi Friend :) Nice to meet you!!! I am going to follow you :) Post on!!!! SUNSHINE247

@giantbear, You are very dedicated, sincere and hardworking steemian. @sikhism fully supports you with the idea of caring for the senior steemians.

Thank you @sikhism. I try my best but steemit has been good to me so I would like to support a worthwhile cause...

Great idea, @giantbear!!! I think that @richq11 is a great writers and he have many stories to tell. He's over 60 and he's an excellent source for this community ^_^

Hi @silviabeneforti! Come on help me find some support so we can help these steemians...

What a fine idea!

It is isn't it? Would you help me get some support?

I could try, how?

Send you message on chat.

I am trotting off to bed bug will catch it in the morn!! :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63026.81
ETH 3462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51