A letter to the 40 new people who follow me every time I publish an articlesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

Who are you people? Seriously. I publish an article here, an article there. Next thing I know I have 20 or 40 followers. Yet maybe only one or two people even upvote my article. This makes no sense.

Are you a bunch of robots? A bunch of people trying to get followbacks? What is this nonsense? Are you real?

What even is the point of following someone anymore? It all seems meaningless. Everyone is following everyone. But is anyone leading anyone? What does it mean to "follow" someone.

Can anyone hear me? IS THIS THING ON?!!!!

Sort:  

Good point. I have 173 follower's but yet I follow nobody lol. I'll give you a vote but I doubt it does anything.

My mistake 180 follower's don't know where they come from and like you no votes. But I could care less about votes or follower's for that matter. I'm usually just a wise ass and make crack comments.

Thanks! And fair enough. I just don't understand what's happening/who these people are. It seems like this platform is really weird to publish on, to be honest.

I’ve had the same thing happen to me. Most of the new follows are low-rep, and avatar-less accounts. It appears to be a somewhat organized effort, to follow a lot of people, hope some follow back, and then hope they upvote the content they post.

Almost all of their posts consist entirely of links to YouTube videos, which Steemit displays as a video. I’m pretty sure they don’t actually make the videos they post about. However, this isn’t immediately obvious to people who blindly upvote everything, and follow back everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69