We seem to need translators! Also some thoughts on recent discussions.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I had a very interesting discussion with user @sunnyray earlier in my last post:

Apparently many users from the Russian Community and probably other languages that don't primarily learn english as their first language, me included, have a hard time getting into Steemit and understsnding how it works, what you can do here and that its not just a scam like obviously many think in this day and age with the usual "earn money online" stuff. Which if I would be nice about it, I would say you can make some money.

But nothing like what a decentralized platform offers, and I really think we need people to translate not just guides, tutorials and the whitepaper, but also the whole site would need different language options.

You can read more about the discussion in the comment section of this post: https://steemit.com/money/@getssidetracked/voting-is-the-new-tipping

but I would be interested to hear about your thoughts on this, as investors as besteemers (believers, sorry). Is it too early? Can the blockchain handle it?;)

I should have added in the comment to him that its a lot like combining youtube (and by youtube I just mean that you can get constant income from the same source like a video getting plays) use hashtags for your own stuff or posts you want to read about (twitter) and finally you can also use it as facebook by verifying your name and posting as yourself with your friends being here too, or anonymously and build up reputation from your activity here, or as Instagram where you can also post to a broader audience and even get sponsors through votes for just being you.
A lot of people still don't see it as what it really is, everything.

I think it would be in everyones interest to make it easier for people to get familiar with steemit and its functionality, shouldn't matter which language. Poor guy was using google translate to discuss with me, that's how interesting steemit is to people that they try so hard!

Have to end this now, battery is dying. :P

Thanks for reading.

(Thumbnail pic)

Sort:  

Im in the mood to upvote this :)

I can tell by your post history that you would like these features added.

I'm up for eng-spa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17